Blessed harmonies

Watch this video and read the amazing story behind the song

“I Have Decided to Follow Jesus” is a Christian hymn originating from India.

The lyrics are based on the last words of a man in Assam, north-east India, who along with his family was converted to Christianity in the middle of the 19th century through the efforts of a Welsh missionary. Called to renounce his faith by the village chief, the convert declared, “I have decided to follow Jesus.” In response to threats to his family, he continued, “Though no one joins me, still I will follow.” His wife was killed, and he was executed while singing. This display of faith is reported to have led to the conversion of the chief and others in the village.

The formation of these words into a hymn is attributed to the Indian missionary Sadhu Sundar Singh. The melody is also Indian, and entitled “Assam” after the region where the text originated

7 thoughts on “Blessed harmonies

  1. What a wonderful start to my day, listening to that great song Bryan, thanks.

    I always thought “no turning back” in the song meant not losing faith in God and and allowing my love to grow cold, but for the first time ever I now see it means (to me) “no turning back to sin”.

    The Word of God is like that too, isn’t it? It can be saying one thing to you one day, and the next time you meditate on it, God opens up your spiritual eyes to see more and go deeper. I love how God speaks to us, anywhere and at any time. He uses the Bible to reach us, the spoken word, song, books, nature and circumstances. He even uses little children. One day a little child unexpectedly asked me if I loved Jesus when I passed her on the footpath during my daily walk, right at the precise time I was running away from Him! She stopped me dead in my tracks by her question. I was never so shocked to hear God speak to me through the mouth of a babe…..and I burst into tears!

    No, no turning back, all right…..to sin, and from my resolve to not let those voices of unbelief who clearly do not know God, steal my faith in Him and what I know to be true about Our Lord God and His Word.

    Like

    • Yep Mon,
      But I would like to point out that for Gnostics and Pantheists like myself as well, our ‘God’ also ‘speaks to us, anywhere and at any time’. Obviously the messages DETECTED AND INTERPRETED from ‘the God’ may well prove to be differing in person to person, and also from time to time.

      You concur Strewth?
      Cheers, Rian.

      Like

      • Of course Rian,

        I concur too, but you cannot give God the credit for all the ‘messages’ or ‘signs’ we feel we may be getting. Sometimes they are imagined, or are an illusion, or they originate in our own thoughts, as in having a conversation with ourselves. Or perhaps they are merely memories coming back to our consciousness. Sometimes we hear what we want to hear because it is our sin nature desiring to be satiated. And sometimes, as in those who have spiritual giftings, we are picking up on other people’s feelings and think they are ours. And then again, these ‘messages’ or ‘signs’ could be coming from the demonic realm/the devil. That is why discernment is so very important.

        So the question must be asked, what ‘standard of truth’ do we use to keep us from being deceived?

        Like

      • Rian, you make me examine what I think!

        A lot of my conviction is not thought, it is experience. God speaking to us is a phrase I often use, but knowing so little about God (the Father, anyway) I cannot imagine such a being talking to me. I’m sure of God’s existence, but not as a white male father figure. I am more comfortable with the thought that it is God the Holy Spirit, or God speaking to me through His servants – human or angelic.

        And I believe God has different messages for different people, not just a different interpretation. Except for the Bible, where I believe what is important is to take to heart how it speaks to you personally. Regardless of alterations, false insertions, etc., in some wonderful way we can find interpretations meant for each of us.

        Like

      • Monica, I concur wholeheartedly. A wonderful safeguard is to join with two or three gathered together in the name of Jesus. It is amazing to feel the Presence that enters.

        Like

  2. बिग बझारच्या पिशव्या ह्या जाड àÂÃê् ¤²à¤¾à¤¸à¥à¤Ÿà¥€à¤•à¤š¤ Â¥ÂÃ Â¤Â¯Ã Â¤Â¾ असतात, त्या मुळे त्या रिसायकलिंग साठी वापरल्या जातात. म्हणजे अगदी तुम्ही कचऱ्यात जरी टाकली तरिही ती पिशवी पुन्हा कचरा गोळाकरणारे घेउन जातात. पण ज्या पिशव्या अगदी पातळ प्लास्टीकच्या असतात त्यांचे वजन कमी असल्यामुळे कचरा जमा करणाऱ्यांचं अजिबात लक्षं नसतं तिकडे. पिशव्या परत दुकानात नेउन देणे.. हे तितकंसं संयुक्तिक वाट्त नाही.कापडी पिशवी आम्ही पण वापरतो, आणि त्या घाणेऱड्य़ा रिसायकल्ड प्लास्टीकच्या पातळ पिशव्या घेण्याचे टाळतो.

    Like

Leave a Reply

