Hate is a choice; Just like love

madellabill7

HATE is a choice, just like love.
A fascinating TV conversation between Bill Clinton and Nelson Mandela revealed how that choice can be life changing.
Clinton told Mandela he had watch the historic moments when the African statesman was released from prison.
“As you walked across the courtyard, from the cellblock to the gate of the prison, the television cameras focused in on your face. I have never seen such anger, such animosity, and such hatred,” observed Clinton.
“I mean, you usually can’t see that so clearly revealed. It was all over you. It was intense hatred, intense resentment. That is not the Nelson Mandela that I know today. Could you explain what was going on?”
Nelson Mandela replied: “You’re the first one that brought that to my attention. I didn’t know that anybody noticed that. But as they released me from the prison block and as I walked across the courtyard to the gate, I thought to myself, ‘They’ve taken everything away from me, my family is destroyed, my cause has been crushed, my friends are dead, anything, anybody, that meant anything to me, they’ve destroyed it all,’ and I hated them with a fiery hatred. And then God spoke to me, and said, ‘Nelson, for 27 years, you were their prisoner, but you were always a free man. Don’t let them make you into a free man, only to turn you into their prisoner’.”
The remarkable thing is that we really love or hate our neighbor as ourselves. Philosopher Eric Hoffer said we do unto others as we do unto ourselves. We hate others when we hate ourselves. We are tolerant toward others when we tolerate ourselves. We forgive others when we forgive ourselves. We are prone to sacrifice others when we are ready to sacrifice ourselves

One thought on “Hate is a choice; Just like love

  1. Nelson Mandela recognised his own human failings, and overcame so much. I am happy to find I stand near him on the Political Compass!

    I think when we judge someone it’s easy to judge what we perceive, rightly or wrongly, to be their failings. We’re less likely to judge them by their better points, but I find it easy to honour Mandela!

    Like

Leave a Reply

