What love really is

NOTHING could make God love you more than He does right now: not greater achievement, greater beauty, greater recognition; not even greater spirituality.
And nothing could make Him love you less: not your character flaws, your past failures and regrets.

The irony is, we spend our lives trying to earn a love that can only be received by faith when we acknowledge that within us there’s an emptiness only God can fill. And He will. But the truth is, learning to live in the love of God is the challenge of a lifetime.

Many of us grew up with parents who withheld their love as an expression of their disapproval. And we think God does that too. But He doesn’t. ‘How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!’ (1 John 3:1 NIV).

Sometimes our actions make us unlovely, but we are never unloved. And because God loves us – we have value. And nobody can take that value away. God’s love revealed at Calvary fastens itself onto flawed creatures like us, and for reasons none of us can ever quite figure out, makes us precious and valued beyond calculation.

This is love beyond reason. And this is the love with which God loves us.’

32 thoughts on “What love really is

  1. Isn’t it amazing, I was in the process of pouring out my heart on the subject of God’s love and just about to share something very precious to me, given by God, and I go and spill a glass of water on the keyboard and mouse, losing my post. Nope, not going to try again; the will and inspiration is gone.

    Sometimes I think the devil does not want the world to know just how real God is, and how much He truly loves us, and the extent to which He is prepared to show it. 🙂

    Like

  2. NOTHING could make God love you more than He does right now

    I disagree with this statement. God has provided in the OT what he hates.

    Psalm 5:5, “The boastful shall not stand before Thine eyes; Thou dost hate all who do iniquity,”

    Lev. 20:23, “Moreover, you shall not follow the customs of the nation which I shall drive out before you, for they did all these things, and therefore I have abhorred them.

    God hates the sinner that does not repent. God punishes the unrepentant sinner not the sin.

    http://www.mercifultruth.com/doesgodhate.html

    A love that is earned is a love that is not taken for granted.

    Like

    • God’s love letter

      My Child,

      You may not know me,
      but I know everything about you.
      Psalm 139:1

      I know when you sit down and when you rise up.
      Psalm 139:2

      I am familiar with all your ways.
      Psalm 139:3

      Even the very hairs on your head are numbered.
      Matthew 10:29-31

      For you were made in my image.
      Genesis 1:27

      In me you live and move and have your being.
      Acts 17:28

      For you are my offspring.
      Acts 17:28

      I knew you even before you were conceived.
      Jeremiah 1:4-5

      I chose you when I planned creation.
      Ephesians 1:11-12

      You were not a mistake,
      for all your days are written in my book.
      Psalm 139:15-16

      I determined the exact time of your birth
      and where you would live.
      Acts 17:26

      You are fearfully and wonderfully made.
      Psalm 139:14

      I knit you together in your mother’s womb.
      Psalm 139:13

      And brought you forth on the day you were born.
      Psalm 71:6

      I have been misrepresented
      by those who don’t know me.
      John 8:41-44

      I am not distant and angry,
      but am the complete expression of love.
      1 John 4:16

      And it is my desire to lavish my love on you.
      1 John 3:1

      Simply because you are my child
      and I am your Father.
      1 John 3:1

      I offer you more than your earthly father ever could.
      Matthew 7:11

      For I am the perfect father.
      Matthew 5:48

      Every good gift that you receive comes from my hand.
      James 1:17

      For I am your provider and I meet all your needs.
      Matthew 6:31-33

      My plan for your future has always been filled with hope.
      Jeremiah 29:11

      Because I love you with an everlasting love.
      Jeremiah 31:3

      My thoughts toward you are countless
      as the sand on the seashore.
      Psalms 139:17-18

      And I rejoice over you with singing.
      Zephaniah 3:17

      I will never stop doing good to you.
      Jeremiah 32:40

      For you are my treasured possession.
      Exodus 19:5

      I desire to establish you
      with all my heart and all my soul.
      Jeremiah 32:41

      And I want to show you great and marvelous things.
      Jeremiah 33:3

      If you seek me with all your heart,
      you will find me.
      Deuteronomy 4:29

      Delight in me and I will give you
      the desires of your heart.
      Psalm 37:4

      For it is I who gave you those desires.
      Philippians 2:13

      I am able to do more for you
      than you could possibly imagine.
      Ephesians 3:20

      For I am your greatest encourager.
      2 Thessalonians 2:16-17

      I am also the Father who comforts you
      in all your troubles.
      2 Corinthians 1:3-4

      When you are brokenhearted,
      I am close to you.
      Psalm 34:18

      As a shepherd carries a lamb,
      I have carried you close to my heart.
      Isaiah 40:11

      One day I will wipe away
      every tear from your eyes.
      Revelation 21:3-4

      And I’ll take away all the pain
      you have suffered on this earth.
      Revelation 21:3-4

      I am your Father, and I love you
      even as I love my son, Jesus.
      John 17:23

      For in Jesus, my love for you is revealed.
      John 17:26

      He is the exact representation of my being.
      Hebrews 1:3

      He came to demonstrate that I am for you,
      not against you.
      Romans 8:31

      And to tell you that I am not counting your sins.
      2 Corinthians 5:18-19

      Jesus died so that you and I could be reconciled.
      2 Corinthians 5:18-19

      His death was the ultimate expression
      of my love for you.
      1 John 4:10

      I gave up everything I loved
      that I might gain your love.
      Romans 8:31-32

      If you receive the gift of my son Jesus,
      you receive me.
      1 John 2:23

      And nothing will ever separate you
      from my love again.
      Romans 8:38-39

      Come home and I’ll throw the biggest party
      heaven has ever seen.
      Luke 15:7

      I have always been Father,
      and will always be Father.
      Ephesians 3:14-15

      My question is…
      Will you be my child?
      John 1:12-13

      I am waiting for you.

      Like

      • Ands meanwhile, Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas has called on Hamas to end its hail of rockets on Israel as Israeli leaders signalled they were preparing to invade the Gaza Strip to stop the barrages. There is wrong o n both sides.

        United Nations chief Ban Ki-moon warned the Security Council of the “risk of an all-out escalation in Israel and Gaza, with the threat of a ground offensive still palpable.”

        “It is unacceptable for citizens on both sides to permanently live in fear of the next aerial attack,” he said. “My paramount concern is the safety and well-being of all civilians, no matter where they are.”

        Like

      • That’s—> “There is wrong on both sides.” like saying both god and Satan are at fault in their struggle for ‘turf’.
        But the buck has to stop somewhere.
        In Palestine it stops in the 1940s, when invading zionists appeared over the horizon with murder in their eyes and ethnic cleansing in their hearts.
        …because god told them to.

        Like

      • From my friend André Haermeyer today

        I’ve had quite a nose full of the one-sided, factually inaccurate reporting of the crisis in the Gaza and Israel that we are being routinely fed.

        Without doubt, the plight of the Palestinians in the Gaza is a human tragedy.

        But let’s be very clear about this – the most deadly enemy the people of the Gaza Strip confront is the brutal and fanatical Hamas terrorist organisation that purports to act in their interests.

        Undoubtedly the Israeli Government is sometimes its own worst enemy, and it has done some provocative things that have not helped Israel’s cause.

        I don’t want to get into the long and complicated history between Jews and Palestinians here.

        The issues between the Israel and the Palestinians are very complex and go back a long way, and I, for one, am pretty sick of hearing justifications, on either side, that go back to when Abraham was in pre-school.

        But let’s just try to analyse the latest outbreak of hostilities, for they follow a familiar pattern:

        About a week or so ago, three young Israeli children were kidnapped and found murdered by Palestinian extremists.

        Hamas celebrated this as a “great victory”.

        I believe the perpetrators were hunted down and arrested by Israeli authorities.

        Hamas went into a super-nova, as it is wont to do.

        A few days later, a young Palestinian was found murdered by a Jewish extremist.

        The perpetrator was promptly hunted down and arrested by Israeli authorities – a somewhat different response to what one would expect of Hamas if circumstances were reversed.

        Soon thereafter, the trickle of scud missiles that would be fired into Israel from the Gaza every week, into civilian targets in Israel, became a hailstorm.

        Unfortunately, this was went by, almost unnoticed, by most of the media.

        When Israel retaliated, not at civilian targets, but at missile sites and Hamas military infrastructure, the media became wildly excited about “Israeli aggression”.

        The Israeli Defence Forces went out of their way to avoid civilian casualties, but when you are dealing with a callous terrorist organisation that hides its missile launches in mosques and near hospitals and schools, it is difficult to avoid civilian casualties.

        Hamas is using the Palestinian population as human shields.

        There can be no excuse for this.

        Hamas does not want peace.

        When Fatah, the somewhat more moderate wing of the PLO has agreed to enter peace negotiations with Israel, it has been undermined by Hamas.

        Like any fanatic, the terrorists of Hamas are people who thrive off division, and hatred and violence.

        They will accept nothing less than the total obliteration of Israel.

        Certainly, there is some fault on both sides but it is not even in the slightest way comparable.

        Whatever one thinks of Israeli settlements on the West Bank, it does not justify the deadly terror that Hamas rains upon Israelis and Palestinians alike.

        Like

      • From my friend André Haermeyer today

        I’ve had quite a nose full of the one-sided, factually inaccurate reporting of the crisis in the Gaza and Israel that we are being routinely fed.

        Without doubt, the plight of the Palestinians in the Gaza is a human tragedy.

        But let’s be very clear about this – the most deadly enemy the people of the Gaza Strip confront is the brutal and fanatical Hamas terrorist organisation that purports to act in their interests.

        Undoubtedly the Israeli Government is sometimes its own worst enemy, and it has done some provocative things that have not helped Israel’s cause.

        I don’t want to get into the long and complicated history between Jews and Palestinians here.

        The issues between the Israel and the Palestinians are very complex and go back a long way, and I, for one, am pretty sick of hearing justifications, on either side, that go back to when Abraham was in pre-school.

        But let’s just try to analyse the latest outbreak of hostilities, for they follow a familiar pattern:

        About a week or so ago, three young Israeli children were kidnapped and found murdered by Palestinian extremists.

        Hamas celebrated this as a “great victory”.

        I believe the perpetrators were hunted down and arrested by Israeli authorities.

        Hamas went into a super-nova, as it is wont to do.

        A few days later, a young Palestinian was found murdered by a Jewish extremist.

        The perpetrator was promptly hunted down and arrested by Israeli authorities – a somewhat different response to what one would expect of Hamas if circumstances were reversed.

        Soon thereafter, the trickle of scud missiles that would be fired into Israel from the Gaza every week, into civilian targets in Israel, became a hailstorm.

        Unfortunately, this was went by, almost unnoticed, by most of the media.

        When Israel retaliated, not at civilian targets, but at missile sites and Hamas military infrastructure, the media became wildly excited about “Israeli aggression”.

        The Israeli Defence Forces went out of their way to avoid civilian casualties, but when you are dealing with a callous terrorist organisation that hides its missile launches in mosques and near hospitals and schools, it is difficult to avoid civilian casualties.

        Hamas is using the Palestinian population as human shields.

        There can be no excuse for this.

        Hamas does not want peace.

        When Fatah, the somewhat more moderate wing of the PLO has agreed to enter peace negotiations with Israel, it has been undermined by Hamas.

        Like any fanatic, the terrorists of Hamas are people who thrive off division, and hatred and violence.

        They will accept nothing less than the total obliteration of Israel.

        Certainly, there is some fault on both sides but it is not even in the slightest way comparable.

        Whatever one thinks of Israeli settlements on the West Bank, it does not justify the deadly terror that Hamas rains upon Israelis and Palestinians alike.

        Like

      • RIGHT OF REPLY.
        For someone who’s “.. had quite a nose full of the one-sided, factually inaccurate reporting of the crisis in the Gaza and Israel that we are being routinely fed.” your friend André Haermeyer blandly adds to MY ” quite a nose full of the one-sided, factually inaccurate reporting of the crisis in the Gaza and Israel that we are being routinely fed.”

        Not an apologist for the jewish cause, is he?

        At the very best, ALL he’s doing is justifying ‘two wrongs make a right’….and looks no further than the rationalisation offered up by Netanyahu and others like him.
        The bottom line is that jews had NO RIGHT to invade and steal Palestine at gunpoint, committing murder and ethnic-cleansing/disenfranchisment from the time they hit the beaches in line with a pre-designed plan.

        The evidence is mountainous ~ and indisputable ~ and includes the stream of UN and Secrity Council admonitions and rulings flagrantly ignored. No other nation on earth has been able to get away with a fraction of the jewish infringements, war crimes, crimes against humanity, etc. committed by the theft of palestine. Any other transgressors would long ago have been invaded and had regime-change forced upon them. I remind you (as a single example among many) of the invasion of iraq and the eventual hanging of Saddam Hussein on the basis of NON-EXISTENT WMDs…..and also remind you of the massive stash of WMDs ~ up to and including nukes ~ owned and operated by israel and with which the ENTIRE WORLD has been threatened on several occasions.

        There is no end of israeli ‘settlers’ ~ including kids armed with machine-guns ~ who aggressively insist they DO have the right to kill and plunder because god said so.
        And not for the first time. For those of you who skip the bits they don’t like, do try reading (particularly) Deuteronomy 7 (though there are plenty of other references too.) :b: Until the DIY jewish god commanded it the world had never recorded a single case of deliberate genocide. :b:

        And as for the hamas ‘resistance’ being “brutal and fanatical” one needs look no further than the assorted Partisans and Resistance fighters who took on the german army a few decades ago for even greater “brutal and fanatical” opposition to the invaders. The French, in particular, committed documented atrocities (including unnecessary one like torture for fun) that horrified even the most hardened of nazis.

        …….and not a single objection was recorded either at the time or since.
        Where were the world’s André Haermeyers then? Where are they now?

        Speaking as a son, grandson and nephew of some of those partisans my take would be that hamas and their ilk are ineffectual sissies.
        And not real bright!

        Like

      • Right of reply? Nah just more of your anti-Semitic propaganda. It would have been better if you’d stuck to the point – that Hamas is fanatical terrorist organisation that purports to act in Palestinian interests.

        Like

      • Crap! Hamas (not my favourite crowd by any means) “purports” to be resisting the ongoing, murderous occupation of jewish invaders; nothing more. Compared to the mentioned WWII ‘fanatical terrorists’ resisting the nazis hamas is inept and uncommitted. (and as we’ve seen time and again hamas isn’t nearly as fanatical or terrorising as the israeli police force.)

        The palestinians being butchered are victims of ISRAELI bombings ~ and artillery attacks, and mass-murdering midnight raids. (Saba & Shatila to name but two.)

        I note you don’t dispute the facts, but chant the all-purpose “anti-semite” mantra, invented and orchestrated by zionist propaganda for use when no real argument can be made to support their activities..

        …and what about NOT cutting out FACTUAL items I try to post; such as ~ for example ~ the link which outlined clearly and indisputably the history of, among other things, the Samson Option. —-> http://www.carolmoore.net/nuclearwar/israelithreats.html
        You may not like the facts, and therefore may refuse to post them in “The Greatest Bog…” but you can’t deny them!
        Israel has been holding the world to ransom by threatening to use nuclear weapons since before Golda Meir ordered some of them be loaded onto planes for immediate use.
        Is it that you don’t remember the facts, or that you don’t want to know them?

        ps…and, given your impassioned denunciation of ” fanatical terrorist organisations”, how about defining what that is, rather than just intoning the party line.

        D’you ever wonder what Jesus would say?
        Or is this one issue where you justify sidelining him?

        Like

      • Firstly, when you send things through more than once I let through the first one. If you look back you’ll discover that you didn’t include a link in that post.
        Your mistake not mine!

        Secondly, I deleted one of your posts because you used a term that is offensive to some people..the same term used by a football commentator this week and that resulted in him being suspended.

        Thirdly, your ISRAELIS ALWAYS WRONG/PALESTINIANS ALWAYS RIGHT is tiresome and innane.

        Like

      • Two wrongs, or any number of them over the generations, do not make a right. Fanatical Palestinians and fanatical Zionists will continue to feel justified until something changes – no outside country should be supporting the present conditions.

        Which of the parties is best able to make concessions without inviting disaster on their heads? Many Jewish people living in Israel, experiencing the events, believe it is Israel which can concede and survive.

        I am not anti-Semitic. I have Jewish friends. But I believe in the separation of Church and State, and not a Zionist government. If that was rectified, it’s not as though a magic wand would be waved, but it is a beginning to work on.

        Like

      • “…..Your mistake not mine!” ~ perhaps my computer’s, or ISPs…..or a police phone-tap. (and that’s only half-joking!).

        About half the comments I’ve been posting appear on the blog with the ‘awaiting moderation’ tag attached ~ and soon after that disappear.
        About half the ‘resends’ are posted ~ particularly if Doris or someone else sends them.

        The er…’missing link’; is not the first that’s gone astray or been replaced with another irrelevant one. It was definitely in the original post, of which I have a copy.

        ____________________________________________

        I don’t follow football, so have no idea what that’s all about or how it effects what I say. What has football got to do with three separate ethnically-different but all ‘black’ gangs bashing and robbing each other?? The underlying question was:- would you accuse them of racism?

        ______________________________________________

        “Thirdly, your ISRAELIS ALWAYS WRONG/PALESTINIANS ALWAYS RIGHT is tiresome and innane.”
        As is your trying to attribute attitudes or meanings to me that aren’t true.

        I’m an anarchist, remember? Which means I reject would-be authorities of ANY kind.
        But ~ if I might say so ~ in line with the teachings of Jesus, my sympathy and support will always lie with the underdog, the weak and the helpless; the dispossessed and the victims of racial discrimination (as distinct from literal-use ‘racism’).
        And those who are clearly being treated unfairly, legally or otherwise ~ particularly on a basis of false and self-declared self-importance.

        And I reiterate:- The jewish tribes had NO moral right to invade and ethnically-cleanse ‘Palestine’ on either of the two occasions admitted by their own history. Even their home-made god used the justifications of the german nazis: Dispose of the Untermenschen and grab their
        Lebensraum.

        If you have any RATIONAL dispute with that contention I’d be pleased to consider it…..rationally.

        Like

      • Perhaps this might jog your memory Dabbles

        A Channel Seven AFL commentator has apologised for referring to Geelong defender Harry Taylor as a “big poofter” on live television.

        Veteran personality Brian Taylor, who played for Collingwood and Richmond, made the remarks during the coverage of the Sydney v Carlton game after file footage was shown of the Geelong defender celebrating his 150th game last week.

        “I don’t know whether you guys down there can hear me or not. I am up here getting ready for the game and I’ve just seen that crap from Harry — he’s a big poofter,” Taylor said.

        At half-time, Taylor apologised for the remarks, which caused widespread outrage on social media.

        “I said something that I regret and I sincerely apologise in regard to Harry Taylor and anyone … [who was] offended by my remark … and I sincerely regret any harm I have caused. So sorry for that.”

        Like

      • Yeah I’m sure the cops or the FBI cares SO much about what you say that they actually withdraw links from your posts!!! Yeah, right.

        And yep you’re an anarchist so you don’t like authority..Just like a six year old child…

        So you’ve had your say and no more juvenile anti-semetic crap will be let through. Got it?

        Grow up!!!

        Like

      • “If you have any RATIONAL dispute with that contention I’d be pleased to consider it…..rationally.”
        I thought ad hominem attacks had been barred long ago.
        Are you EVER going to address the factual issue factually?

        Like

      • Yes I have. So have others. Being rational would be able to see the issue without blinkers that proclaims one side is completely evil and the other is completely pure. I really have no barrow to push. Neither do I support either side in this terrible conflict. There seems to be craziness on both sides.

        Like

      • The worst thing happening to the Palestinians is Hamas. Why? Because the group gives the Israeli government a ready argument about why negotiating with the Palestinian Authority is pointless. Anytime it looks as if there might be some sort of agreement or peace, Hamas pulls something self-destructive.

        As long as Hamas exists and refuses to acknowledge Israel’s right to exist, there will be no peace.

        Like

      • Bryan, you have the freedom to delete anything offensive that others might say which is nothing more than garbage

        Like

      • Indeed? :- “I really have no barrow to push. Neither do I support either side in this terrible conflict.”
        When was the last time you described the israelis as a ” …fanatical terrorist organisation” ??

        Your bias sticks out like the proverbial canine cojones ~ and that’s even more puzzling when your professed christianity is thrown into the pot.

        My reference to Jesus wasn’t just rhetorical.
        While I can see the biblical ‘justifications’ used by zionist-supporting jewish marauders, I don’t see how any would-be christian can support the very principles of judaism or it’s conquests, which fly in the face of any christian concept. eg:-

        38 “You have heard that it was said, ‘An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.’ 39 But I say to you, Do not resist the one who is evil. But if anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also. 40 And if anyone would sue you and take your tunic, let him have your cloak as well. 41 And if anyone forces you to go one mile, go with him two miles. 42 Give to the one who begs from you, and do not refuse the one who would borrow from you.

        ….. specifically and explicitly:-
        For I tell you, unless your righteousness exceeds that of the scribes and Pharisees, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

        So where’s there room for any sort of reconciliation? How could any ‘christian’ accept (let alone condone) the bombing of children in the middle of the night…. by anyone, for ANY reason?
        Surely, supporting israeli aggression ~ for ANY reason, strictly speaking even genuine ‘self-defense’ ~ immediately disqualifies one from claiming to be a follower of Jesus.

        Or have I missed something?

        Like

      • Yep you’ve missed a lot.
        My bias? I’ve often written about the unfair plight of the Palestinian people. I’ve even participated in marches to call for justice for the Palestinians. Have you?
        My point (AGAIN) is that there is wrong on BOTH sides. I abhor the Israeli bombings into the Arab territories just as I abhor the Palestinian rockets into Israel. Aggression by whomever is wrong.
        Your cherry-picked biblical references could apply to both sides in this terrible conflict.
        My disgust is for those who claim that one side is wrong and one side is right. That’s dangerous ignorance. So if you’re talking about bias, look in the mirror.
        And if you really have any of those proverbial canine cojones you talk about you’d agree with me.
        But I doubt it.

        Like

      • Told y’so! (and was attacked for it!)
        “Arafat was in fact the most consistent voice for peace in the ME for three decades” ~ Miko Peled

        Your religious-based tizzy is blinding you to the realities.

        1……I’ve never seen you write about ‘the unfair plight of the palestinians’ ~ except vaguely in terms of defending israeli ‘justifications’.

        2…../ have written about the unfair plight of the palestinians (and been roundly abused and censored for it).
        Oddly, the Miko Peled links posted not only confirm my take on israeli bastardries but go way beyond them.
        Have you read them? Would you denounce him as an antisemitic racist?

        3……One point he makes ~ and decisively so! ~ is that resistance to an occupying force by any means is recognised, officially and otherwise, around the world as legitimate and legal.

        3…. While there may be (purely subjective) “wrong on both sides” , the degree of ‘wrong’ is beyond comparison.
        Just this morning news-footage clearly shows a group of young boys, playing soccer on a beach, murdered ~ plainly far, far away from any alleged ‘military target’. The only rational conclusion is that it was a deliberate multi-murder of “fanatical terrorists”.
        No other monstrosity on the planet ( including ‘Satan’ ) would target children for any purpose. But the jews, of course, have a millennia-long history of doing so, according to their own history.

        4…..My “cherry-picked biblical references” about which you complain are NOT cherry-picked; they convey the whole substance of the sermon on the mount ~ of which you yourself often cite short (“cherry-picked”?) passages.

        5…..Moreover, my references to the sermon on the mount can NOT “apply to both sides in this terrible conflict”. As the post makes clear they apply to the hypocrisy of ‘christians’ who support the israeli occupation forces.
        6….. Despite your “… disgust for those who claim that one side is wrong and one side is right.” I refer you to 3, above, and to the UNCHR, IJC, and others.
        Told y’so! (and was attacked for it!)
        “Arafat was in fact the most consistent voice for peace in the ME for three decades” ~ Miko Peled

        Like

    • Dom writes:

      “Lev. 20:23, “Moreover, you shall not follow the customs of the nation which I shall drive out before you, for they did all these things, and therefore I have abhorred them. ”

      God says

      “But in the fourth generation they shall come hither again: FOR THE INIQUITY OF THE AMORITES IS NOT YET FULL” Gen. 15:16.

      In other words, God’s love for the wicked nations, led Him to be patient with them for some 400 odd years, before they abused God’s mercy and love leading Him to destroy them.

      Now Psalm 5:5

      Psalm 5:5, “The boastful shall not stand before Thine eyes; Thou dost hate all who do iniquity,”

      Do you believe that the boastful can do so without undermining the principles of love? At whose expense are they boastful? Is it not at someone else’s expense (by raising themselves whilst belittling someone else; whether that be God or man)? How can God demonstrate He loves you when He tolerates the person who consistently puts you down by boasting s/he is better, more worthy than you?

      God also says:

      “1 Fret not yourself because of evildoers, neither be thou envious against the workers of iniquity.
      2 For they shall soon be cut down like the grass, and wither as the green herb”
      Psalm 37:1,2
      Notice that before the grass and green herb are cut down, they are tolerated to grow to maturity.

      God also says

      “7And will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? 8I tell you, he will see that they get justice, and quickly.” Luke 18:7,8

      Notice that the justice of God is not always swift, because He loves the sinner who undermines the principle of love and waits for them to repent and respond to God’s love. However, one day they will refuse to respond to God’s love and cross the line between God’s forbearance and mercy, into God’s justice and punishment.

      God also says that a day is like a thousand years with Him, in order to illustrate how long He is willing to give the workers of iniquity another chance.

      You also referenced a web link that basically says, because God hates sin so should we. What you failed to mention is the fact that God bears patiently with sinner before He executes judgement.

      Like

  3. Love is an aspect of God that does need attention and acceptance, but another important aspect is Light, that shows us our errors and shows us the way out of them. Like sunlight, it can be warm and gentle, but take care,it can be otherwise also. Treated with respect, there is only benefit in it.

    Like

  4. “. And because God loves us – we have value. And nobody can take that value away.”

    Surely people have value regardless or not of God.

    Like

  5. You can’t control who you love. I remember when I was on the dating scene and I’d be told, you know this person is so perfect etc. etc., but I felt nothing. Then along comes Joe Blow from down the Road and 123, I’m gone and for no discernible reason lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

