Do you want fries with that?

HOPE United Methodist Church in Voorhees, Pennsylvania., has a new evangelism tool: a drive-through prayer window. The idea came about when a bank became available on the adjacent property.

“You don’t have to be a member here, it doesn’t cost you anything, and you don’t even have to get out of your car,” a church official said.

Situated at a busy intersection where cars must stop for a traffic light, a sign advertising the drive-through beckons people to spontaneously pull in.

Cars drive up, drivers roll down the window, and describe a worry or concern. A volunteer offers a prayer on the spot. The whole process takes a minute or two, and patrons, from all religious denominations, remain anonymous.

For those preferring to simply write down their thoughts without a conversation, one of the lanes utilizes the old bank’s deposit tube that now shuttles pencil and card between patron and volunteer.

11 thoughts on “Do you want fries with that?

  1. I honestly don’t know how I feel about this, except that how much more wonderful would it be if the old bank site was converted to a church with a sign up saying something like, “Come in, sit awhile. Stay for a friendly chat, free refreshments and prayer if desired. We are here to help.”

    Wishful thinking perhaps.

    Like

  2. People just don’t have much time for God these days. You might as well just pray yourself and not bother driving there.

    Like

  3. If someone is feeling out of touch with God, or forsaken, this could truly help them. The fact that it is anonymous encourages a more open sharing , and hopefully the prayer offered would reflect a compassionate attitude while encouraging a fresh approach to the problem.

    Like

    • “The fact that it is anonymous encourages a more open sharing”

      That may be so Strewth,

      But I have dropped in to many a Christian Sunday service in the past as a guest and not a soul has greeted me or even smiled an acknowledgement that I was there. On the contrary, I have been looked upon with suspicion, especially by the pastors, and all I did was sat there and joined in with prayer and song.

      If people want a dose of cold ‘Christian’ anonymity, they don’t have to go far.

      Like

      • Anonymous telephone counselling services offer caring, not coldness. I sort of visualise this as, although a different service, having a similar attitude.

        Like

      • Yes Strewth, they do a good job. I understand the concept of anonymity. But what I am inferring is something else. How much better a friendly face and embrace and no strings attached….but that’s just me I suppose.

        Like

      • Monica, do you attend such a church? But don’t reply if that’s an intrusive question!

        Like

      • No Strewth,

        I left Church 15 years ago.

        I long to find a church home, I think, but everytime I purpose to build up the courage to go check a new church out, I talk myself out of it. What I baulk at now is religion. I do not want to become religious again, or should I say as religious as I used to be. I do not want church life to overtake me like it did before, so that I have no outside life left anymore. But unfortunately, that’s what they do to you. They dump all these responsibilities in your lap—you must come pray with us, see this visiting speaker or that, come to the church picnic, come to the worship night, come to the women’s conference, the work bee, help in the cafe, clean the toilets, mind the children, give your money to the church, give for the visiting preacher, buy his books, give for our other church in India, and so it goes on. My church experience has been like a bottomless chasm that swallowed me up.

        And yet I miss that sense of belonging.

        Like

Leave a Reply

