A beautiful Irish prayer

wander
As I arise today,
may the strength of God pilot me,
the power of God uphold me,
the wisdom of God guide me.
May the eye of God look before me,
the ear of God hear me,
the word of God speak for me.
May the hand of God protect me,
the way of God lie before me,
the shield of God defend me,
the host of God save me.
May Christ shield me today.
Christ with me, Christ before me,
Christ behind me,
Christ in me, Christ beneath me,
Christ above me,
Christ on my right, Christ on my left,
Christ when I lie down, Christ when I sit,
Christ when I stand,
Christ in the heart of everyone who thinks of me,
Christ in the mouth of everyone who speaks of me,
Christ in every eye that sees me,
Christ in every ear that hears me.
Amen

6 thoughts on “A beautiful Irish prayer

  1. Thank you, thank you! I love that prayer….because Jesus Christ is the centre of our world.

    “Christ is the centre of creation, first-born of all. In him, through him and for him all things were created. Christ is the centre of his people and Christ is the centre of history.

    He is the centre of all things: God has given him the fullness, the totality, so that in him all things might be reconciled—he is the Lord of reconciliation. Today, he is here in our midst. He is here right now in his word.

    Christ is the centre of the history of humanity and also the centre of the history of every individual”…. HOMILY OF POPE FRANCIS

    Like

  2. Life’s a battle at times, and I do get discouraged sometimes, to the point of giving up. That’s how I was feeling yesterday. Thought nothing more about it until just now when I suddenly became aware that my spirit (well I believe it is my spirit as that is where we have communion with
    God—Spirit to spirit) was singing this song. You see one of the ways God speaks to me is in song—-I absolutely love song—-and because I had prayed yesterday, I wondered if this was an answer to my prayer. “Keep on Shining” was the song. I couldn’t remember the rest of the words so I’ve just now had a listen.

    I am stepping out in faith and sharing this because I feel that it is not just a message for me.

    Be blessed and know that God loves you with an everlasting love. Nothing goes unnoticed by Him.

    “Keep On Shinin'” (THIRD DAY)

    It feels like forever since I can remember
    It seems like it’s always been this way
    Keep the good news to ourselves, like a secret we’ll never tell
    I don’t know why we’ve been so ashamed

    But changes are in the air, sparks are starting everywhere
    And oh, what a sweet, sweet sound
    With millions of voices, singing new choruses
    Leading the way to higher ground

    Keep on, keep on shinin’
    Wherever you may be
    Keep on, keep on shinin’
    For all the world to see

    Having faith in the long run is easier said than done
    It’s hard to live out in the light of day
    You’re bruised and you’re battered, your dreams have been shattered
    Your best laid plans scattered over the place

    Despite all your tendencies, God sees it differently
    Your struggle’s a time to grow
    And you, you’re a miracle, anything but typical
    It’s time for the whole wide world to know

    Like

  3. The Irish do have a way with words. I like this one –

    Dear Lord,
    Give me a few friends who will love me
    for what I am,
    and keep ever burning before my vagrant steps
    the kindly light of hope…
    And though I come not within sight of the castle
    of my dreams,
    teach me to be thankful for life,
    and for time’s olden memories that are good and sweet.
    And may the evening’s twilight
    find me gentle still.

    Like

    • Ah! That seems to be part of a longer prayer by Max Ehrrmann, copyright, all rights reserved. Anyone wanting to share it should acknowledge the author!

      “A Prayer” by Max Ehrmann

      Let me do my work each day; and if the darkened hours of despair overcome me, may I not forget the strength that comforted me in the desolation of other times.

      May I still remember the bright hours that found me walking over the silent hills of my childhood, or dreaming on the margin of a quiet river, when a light glowed within me, and I promised my early God to have courage amid the tempests of the changing years.

      Spare me from bitterness and from the sharp passions of unguarded moments. May I not forget that poverty and riches are of the spirit.

      Though the world knows me not, may my thoughts and actions be such as shall keep me friendly with myself.

      Lift up my eyes from the earth, and let me not forget the uses of the stars. Forbid that I should judge others lest I condemn myself.

      Let me not follow the clamor of the world, but walk calmly in my path.

      Give me a few friends who will love me for what I am; and keep ever burning before my vagrant steps the kindly light of hope.

      And though age and infirmity overtake me, and I come not within sight of the castle of my dreams, teach me still to be thankful for life, and for time’s olden memories that are good and sweet; and may the evening’s twilight find me gentle still.

      Like

Leave a Reply

