Why doesn’t God seem successful?

IF God is all-powerful, why doesn’t he seem successful? Why doesn’t he make a big splash across the universe for everyone to see?
Because God is most often revealed in humble circumstances.
We want God’s voice to thunder through the air. But God’s voice is often still and small; a gentle whisper. And nothing draws human focus quite like a whisper.
It’s easy to fall victim to the voices of spiritual predators. Don’t believe anything unless deep down it resonates as truth. Stop and listen to the voice of truth—God’s voice, which lives inside of you.
An Oxford University psychologist is reported as saying infants are hard-wired to believe in God, and atheism has to be learned.
Shel Silverstein, the brilliant comic writer, had his serious moments. He once wrote: “There is a voice inside you that whispers all day long `I feel that this is right, I know that this is wrong’. No teacher, preacher, parent, friend or wise man can decide what’s right. Just listen to the voice that speaks inside.’’

42 thoughts on “Why doesn’t God seem successful?

  1. Why would we think or believe god has no power to be successful? God created the universes, each of us individualy and we say god in not successful?
    Or does it mean when we mess up why doesn’t god fixed straight after? I say god is very successful. In every way. We giving god false attributes because we. Can’t accept purity and good intent exclusively. We need condition attached to make it”right”
    I reiterate, we were given free choice, absolute free choice, we choose every moment of our life. If you feel like blaming someone, blame yourself only for making poor choices.

    Like

    • “There is a God. You are not Him.”

      “The Mormons teach you can become gods. The New Agers teach that you are, basically, already god(s) in nature. Certain heretical “Christian” teachers on TV say we are little gods. And, some religions teach that when you die you join with the god-consciousness so you can “realize your full potential in oneness with the divine essence”…or whatever that means. They sure have high opinions of themselves.

      When I look inside, I don’t find a divine nature. I find a sinner, a person who is struggling with sin and hoping to please the true God as he stumbles through life. I also find the indwelling Lord who has cleansed me and continues to cleans me of my sins. Praise be to Jesus.

      “There is a God. You are not Him,” >/b> is a delightful piece of truth. Think about it. Who created the universe? Was it the infinite and wise God, or was it me… or you? I have not heard whether if God consulted any of you about how universe should be run. If He has, please let me know. But as it stands now, He doesn’t need our help.

      Trust Him in all things. He is God and you are not.

      Matt Slick

      Like

  2. How could anyone think that God is not successful? To judge God you would need to know everything He has in mind. You would need to be omniscient.

    It is easy to fall victim to the voice of spiritual predators, too. And to your own misguided thoughts. When two or three are gathered together in the name ofJesus he promised to be there. Certainly there is a Presence that dispels any such misguided thinking. There is no need to be fearful when you know you can trust.

    Once was sittingin such a group, my mind elsewhere.I was troubled if’ I should follow one course or another. My mind drifted further as I remebered as a child being shown how to candle eggs. I came back to my problem, and knew immediately I had to hold it up to the Light! Which I did, and received total reassurance of the right way.

    Like

    • ??? “To judge God you would need to know everything He has in mind.”
      Why??

      No matter how violently your father beats you, for your own good in HIS mind, it’s the kid on the end of the beating that has absolute ‘right’ to adjudge his father to be a child-abusing bully. What might be in the attacker’s mind is irrelevant.
      So let it be with Caesar.

      ps. Even in the Racial Vilification Act (and any of its variations) recently cited it’s stipulated that motive and (generally) intent has no bearing on the action.

      Like

      • I see your point, Dabs. This is where the concept of God as father is not enough.

        If instead the question had been “If Wisdom is all-powerful, why doesn’t it seem successful?”, my answer would still stand, I think.

        Like

    • chortle……”When two or three are gathered together in the name ofJesus”
      the only promise you can be sure of is that you have the makings of a religious war. 😆

      Like

      • Dabs, it’s only experience of this that can testify to it. Even if you replace the name of Jesus with concepts of what he stood for – we’ll say compassion for starters – the result is there.

        Sometimes it can be just a sensation of peace and goodwill, sometimes it can be quite direct. As on my first time in such a gathering, when I couldn’t still my mind; it kept returning to the Serenity prayer which AA uses.

        It would not leave my mind until it changed from a prayer to an affirmation – that we DO have these abilities. I was led, or felt more like forced, to say this.

        Afterwards a man present I had never met came to me with tears in his eyes. “How did you know about me?” Apparently he had just come from his first AA meeting, and was sitting there rejecting the Serenity prayer as useless.

        Like

      • Given all that:- “it’s only experience of this that can testify to it. Even if you replace the name of Jesus with concepts of what he stood for – we’ll say compassion for starters – the result is there.
        Sometimes it can be just a sensation of peace and goodwill,”

        ….WHY insist on naming ‘it’ Jesus?

        …….and attributing all sorts of other non-apparent qualities to it?

        You might “say ‘compassion’ for starters”, but I wouldn’t.
        Compassion per se exists, surely enough; even animals show it.
        But ~ even if ‘Jesus’ healed a few and ‘saves’ a few, what about all those he didn’t heal, and says he won’t save? (No matter WHAT the so-called ‘justification’)
        Compassion should be made of ‘sterner stuff’; and MUST, if it is compassion and not just grandstanding, be universal and unstinted.

        A long time ago on this blog there was a heated ‘debate’ about the divisibility of compassion; there were those who insisted that compassion for humans was ‘different’ (and somehow more important) and should be ‘greater’ than in other circumstances.

        A s I recall I ended up being censored then, too.

        Like

      • Dabbles, you are trying to envisage a historical Jesus. Have you read much about the power of thought? Over the centuries Christians have built a thought form that is very real.

        Let’s not, though, give much thought to the Devil. His substance lessens as he is neglected.

        Okay, I know I’m weird, but…….

        Like

  3. And that’s only one mention. The problem with religious people is total closeness of mind. Each to its own though. We been through this cycle before few times. If its in the bible is true, if not is untrue. A very limited perspective indeed. How many antrocities were committed in the name of god by misled believers. We look to Islam today and point finger, but how much more tolerant are members of Christian denominations. Still the same issues, ignorance and arrogance. The Jews had one thing right, creating an image (which ever form) was prohibited and considered the greatest sin. Which bit of omni present god we pick without making an impression that this part is the whole of god.
    I read of false prophets here, heresies and so forth. All matter of view.
    I joined this forum to share, not to defend. I am convinced for now that I speak to the only god that exists and ever existed. Because it says: in the beginning god created……….
    No mention of competition. Once god finished he blessed the creation and proclaimed it as good without changing mind about the good. The confusion started later. Not on gods part

    Like

    • But in actual fact,

      Aren’t you setting yourself up Fossall,

      As a greater authority than all Christians because you supposedly see “outside the box” of a biblical worldview? And why should I take your word over God’s?

      I happen to think that you are the one with the blinkers on.

      Like

  4. Onya fossall!
    But be careful lest some offended christian squawk ‘religious vilification’ at the suggestion that at least some of the breed (race?) are arrogant and/or ignorant.

    …..not that, in truth, it’s defamatory, mind you…. 😉

    Like

  5. Actually God did try to speak to Adam when he sinned. What did Adam do? He hid himself. Josephus Flavius comments on this passage that before sin, Adam and God had habitual morning conversations. After Adam sinned, he hid from the presence of God, because he was afraid.
    Want more? God physically spoke to Israel at Sinai. Only to have the congregation choose Moses as a medium through which to hear God’s voice. Why? Because once again, due to sin, they were afraid.

    Like

      • Have a look at what Bryan is talking about. He gives the impression that people measure God’s success on whether He chooses to communicate through thunder (as He did at Sinai) Yet it was at Sinai that people asked for an intermediary between themselves and God, because they could not endure God speaking directly to them (Ex. 20:19). Because of sin God has had to change the way He spoke to us, in order that we might be able to endure His voice.
        The three recognised ways God speaks to us today are:
        – The Bible
        – Nature
        – Conscience
        There is a fourth one, which is not explained in Scripture but is in harmony with Scripture. That is history. One of my old army chaplain had this saying “If they will not listen to God’s voice in His word, they will listen to it in the bloody history of the nations”.

        Like

      • A mate sent me this today.

        Have just seen an example that shows most people know how Jesus want them to live, and just do it. e.g. Cleaner from NSW rail system waiting patiently for an alcoholic to go through his rubbish for something of value. I was taken! Had to tell him how patient and kind I thought he was. Don’t they say these qualities exemplify true love. But I better watch out. You’ve got to live this stuff; not talk about it.

        Like

      • I think it is folly to believe that a person’s conscience will never let them down. I know for a fact that my conscience was seared before my eyes were opened by Grace to see the reality of my sin, even though I still did the right thing sometimes. And even now I still struggle with sin. It’s not easy to live a selfless life.

        I thought I could trust my heart, but I learned the hard way that I am led more by my flesh than I am by the Spirit of God.

        Yes, I agree with your mate Bryan, that God’s love is shed abroad in our hearts, even if we are aware of God or not, but there is surely a battle going on in each and every heart. And so, I thank Jesus Christ for setting this captive free and I also thank Him for His Word, the Bible, and His Church, through which I came to know Him (see in part); to experience His profound love and to taste of His wisdom. I’d hate to go it alone, for apart from Jesus we can do nothing of any eternal value.

        Like

    • Romans 2:12-16 (The Message)

      12-13 If you sin without knowing what you’re doing, God takes that into account. But if you sin knowing full well what you’re doing, that’s a different story entirely. Merely hearing God’s law is a waste of your time if you don’t do what he commands. Doing, not hearing, is what makes the difference with God.

      14-16 When outsiders who have never heard of God’s law follow it more or less by instinct, they confirm its truth by their obedience. They show that God’s law is not something alien, imposed on us from without, but woven into the very fabric of our creation. There is something deep within them that echoes God’s yes and no, right and wrong. Their response to God’s yes and no will become public knowledge on the day God makes his final decision about every man and woman. The Message from God that I proclaim through Jesus Christ takes into account all these differences.

      Like

      • “I think it is folly to believe that a person’s conscience will never let them down.” Yes. Our conscience can trouble us if we do something against our upbringing, even though it might be sanctioned by God. Like loving your neighbour.

        Like

  6. Dables, what you said about experience is excactly right. We can only digest mentally what we experienced. No other way.
    And we are created in gods image, I mean isn’t it written in the so idolised book of Torah? Sorry “Old Testament” ?
    Does anybody dispute that? Next question begs for answer is why are we here and who are we? Answering the above questions removes lot of misunderstanding. Not all.
    Removing blind insistence of been right would really help.
    To Monica;
    You see I don’t deny Jesus or the existence of one god. Why you think I am a false prophet? Why you believe others having different vow are heretics? Who gives you the right to proclaim yourself right?
    Why do you over react somobody says something different from your beloved?
    Is that lack of your own faith perhaps?
    Don’t look this as a personal attack but an opportunity to view what others see.
    This offense was a root of all religious wars trough out human history. To go to war for god, which god if there is only one?
    The Earth is in the shape it is because of what we do. Unless we each personally take care of our personal agressions, nothing will ever change.

    Monica there are many secrets yet to uncover. Hang in there, fear not.

    Like

    • Hi fossall,

      “There are many secrets yet to uncover”

      Yes—agreed. It is not all contained in the Bible. And I do believe in extra-biblical revelation, but also that it is, and always will be, SUBJECTIVE and never does it supersede, supplant, replace the authority of God’s Logos (written word) the Bible.

      And on that basis, I think you are a false prophet because yes, you do deny Jesus by what you say, which is contrary to the Gospel; the “good news” that Jesus Christ died to pay the penalty for our sin so that we might become the children of God through faith alone in Christ alone. In short, “the Gospel” is the sum total of the saving truth as God has communicated it to lost humanity as it is revealed in the person of His Son and in the Holy Scriptures, the Bible. This is truth:

      “We are all infected and impure with sin…
      Like autumn leaves, we wither and fall, and our sins sweep us away like the wind. (Isaiah 64:6). And not that we are perfect and gods creating our own reality/word, as you say.

      Fair enough, each to their own. You have your opinions and I have mine, but they are just your opinions and carry no true spiritual authority—because love is the foundation of spiritual authority and love is connected to the anointing. His sheep hear His voice and another they will not follow. You speak as a New Ager.

      And I haven’t called anyone a heretic. Matt Slick did (above). I hate that word!

      Like

      • I have always understood God’s Logos to be his Word in flesh, not in print form. Words are how we express ourselves. Therefor Jesus was, according to this teaching, the way God expressed Himself in life.

        Like

      • Hi Strewth,

        Now you’ve got me thinking.

        I am the product of Catholic Charismatic and Word of Faith Movement teachings which distinguish between the “Logos” as the “written word” of God and the “Rhema” as the “spoken word” of God. So, if we receive “words from God” we call that a “Rhema” word. And the Bible, the written word of God, is associated with the term Logos. But Jesus Christ is the Word (Logos) of God too.

        In the Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology:

        WORD—(Heb. dabar [r’b’D]; Gk. logos [lovgo”] and rhema [rJh’ma]). The theological meaning of “word” within Scripture spans a wide theological spectrum. From the divine point of view, it consists of God revealing something about himself through his spoken word, which is ultimately and perfectly personified in his Son, Jesus Christ.

        In a broader sense, it designates Scripture itself.

        CARM Apologetics:

        LOGOS—The Greek word for “word.” Mentioned only in the writings of John. John 1:1 says, “In the beginning was the Word [logos] and the Word [logos] was with God and the Word [logos] was God.” The Logos is sometimes used to refer to the second person of the Trinity as the Son in pre-incarnate form. Jesus is the word [logos] made flesh (John 1:1,14).

        Like

    • By what authority do you say that the Old Testament is idolised? And how can you say that we can only digest what we experienced? Do I have to do drugs to know that illicit drug use is wrong?

      Like

    • Hi Paul,

      I just want to say that even though I may not always agree with you, I certainly value your contribution/opinions here. Your words are food for thought and I recognise the wisdom you have to impart to us, and for that I thank you.

      Please keep on sharing and don’t mind me. I’ll keep my peace from now on. And please forgive me if I have caused you angst. I can be very intense at times and for that I apologise.

      Psalm 27:4

      4 I am pleading with the Eternal for this one thing,
      my soul’s desire:
      To live with Him all of my days—
      in the shadow of His temple,
      To behold His beauty and ponder His ways
      in the company of His people.

      God Bless

      Like

  7. We all express our opinions, which may seem presumptuous to others, so I expect we should all be prepared for criticism. I have been pleasantly surprised at the lack of flak flying around here, though I admit to being a little concerned for Prophet HUF. (HUP?)

    I might be deluded, but I thank you all for bearing with any such delusion! 🙂

    Like

    • Dabbles, don’t take everything I wrote he for ‘right’
      I use iPhone at the moment been in tradition and not having computer. It is hard to manage this tiny letters on tiny screen. The word idolised is automatic replacement of what iPhone thought idealised should have been. Sorry I did’t see that before.

      Monica, I was indeed ready to stop been on this forum. God himself led you to write your last reply. I thought about stopping not because I was offended butbecause I saw offending others. Last I want to do. And if I sound like angry, it’s just the pain my body endures currently. My son ere apologies. We have moved to the tropics just recently and had few obstacles in our way.

      To you Monica, I see your fervent is genuine. Please don’t think I patronise you. 30 years ago almost to the day I set one local church alight. I had the most glorious conversion I could imagine. But the church was very reserved to the vision of Christ I could see and soon I followed the charge to go out to the world and preach the gospel by deed and example. And I did.
      As a philosophically trained person, brought up in oppressive communist system, later living in number of foreign countries I developed insatiable thirst for personal truth rather than what someone else said.

      Perhaps this will shine bit more light on my perhaps unique way of viewing things.
      Live Paul

      Like

      • Thank you Paul.

        God is good!

        Yes, I had the strongest conviction that I had driven you away and that is the last thing I would ever want to happen…..to you, Bryan, me and everyone else here who love and value you and your wisdom. Felt terrible. So sorry!

        BTW., I also sensed that you needed prayer at this trying time of affliction. God loves you, no doubt about it! And so do I—yes, really.

        Also, I have peace now. Praise God! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

