Hell freezes over!

hell1

THE Polar Vortex joke today is that Hell has frozen over – as in Hell, a town in Michigan.

As cold weather continues to hit the US, the small town of Hell has ground to a halt due to a thick carpet of snow.
Temperatures in the small town yesterday plunged to -13C, with a wind chill of -33C
The 200 residents of Hell have been cut off by frozen snow and have been helping each other keep warm

The town of Hell is not thought to take its name from the fiery pit of eternal torment and there are two different theories for the origins of the town’s name.

The first is that a pair of German travelers stepped out of a stagecoach one sunny afternoon in the 1830s, and one said to the other, ‘So schön hell!’ meaning ‘So beautifully bright!’. Their comments were overheard by some locals and the name stuck.

Another possible theory is that soon after Michigan gained statehood, George Reeves was asked what he thought the town he helped settle should be called and replied, ‘I don’t care, you can name it Hell for all I care’.

In a rare turn of events, Hell, Norway, is warmer than its U.S. namesake.

8 thoughts on “Hell freezes over!

  1. That’s:- “In a rare turn of events, Hell, Norway, is warmer than its U.S. namesake.” just superior American ‘can-do’, isn’t it?

    But I’m curious why anyone should think the germans WEREN’T referring to geography rather than climate.

    Like

    • Well Dabbles,
      this has nothing to do with the topic this evening, but how about we start organizing that meet up in Melbourne with Bryan that was discussed the other week.???? Some time over the next few weeks perhaps?
      cheers, Rian.

      Like

      • Why not indeed. I could certainly use a break, and ‘twould be a good way to waste a day. Perhaps on a weekend ~ which would also give Bryan a good excuse not to have to go to church/synagogue/mosque/all of the above!

        Hamburgers and plonk in the Botanical Gardens or StKilda beach?
        (I did offer to take Monica to the opera, but I don’t think they allow entry to the uncouth inhabitants from beyond the Black Stump since they got the new carpets and seat-covers. 🙂 )

        Perhaps get Kathleen to make a list of possibilities?
        …or even a list of lists?
        I’ll make a point of being there any day except 10th. Feb. That’s been listed as the day I watch some coppers eating crow.

        ….and always assuming some spoilsport god hasn’t lumbered me with a heart-attack beforehand.
        😉

        Like

      • Dabbles,
        Well I guess we’d better pass it over to Bryan for his consideration. I do recall that someone else was putting up their hand to join us. Didnt think that it was Kathleen. That would be great. But I had the vague idea it was another of the dissenters and atheists??? Sadly, Mon is just too fur away to be with us.

        Anyway for the moment, – any other takers? And can Bryan really cope with us?
        Weekend times would probably suit me well too, by the way. As far as weekdays are concerned, Mondays are taken up as being my ‘gym’ day for old folks exercising, and most Fridays are taken up with University of 3rd age music programmes. (one of those is Opera, by the way, Dabbles.) If an afternoon time were fixed, it would give me a morning opportunity to do one of my Melbourne Bookshop ‘crawls’.

        Oh, just one second, – are you confessing to being an ‘uncouth inhabitant from beyond the black stump’. Gee, can I afford to be seen mixing with you????

        Rian.

        Like

      • I’m not particularly reliable because I’m a Carer and I often work weekends but if you set a date and I’m not too shy to come along, I will 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

