Why are these Muslims, Jews and Sikhs marching together?

canada

MONTREAL has witnessed the rare spectacle of thousands of protesting Muslims, Jews and Sikhs marching together through the streets.

They are protesting a proposed ban on religious headgear, part of what the Quebec government calls its “charter of values.”
The trigger is a heatedly debated plan by the ruling party, the separatist Parti Quebecois, to make the provincial government religion-neutral. It wants to do so by banning symbols of religious faith such as Jewish skullcaps, Sikh turbans, Muslim head scarves and large crucifixes from public workplaces.

The ban on religious headwear, the most disputed element of the proposed charter, would apply to anyone working in public institutions, including day care workers, doctors, nurses, teachers and police

Elsewhere in Canada, reactions have been fierce. The federal Conservative government says it will fight the change in court. The Ontario legislature has passed a motion of condemnation, and Naheed Nenshi, the Muslim mayor of Calgary, has invited religious minorities to move to his city where “we don’t care how you worship.”

http://www.pressherald.com/life/religionandvalues/Plan_to_ban_religious_headwear_mobilizes_minorities.html

23 thoughts on “Why are these Muslims, Jews and Sikhs marching together?

  1. ….once again proving that religion creates conflict: it can’t not.
    And also proving yet again that ‘democracy’ is an idiocy.
    (That may be why it’s so popular! 😉 )

    Like

  2. Actually, it’s interesting to note that nobody in that crowd of protesters (above) are wearing “Jewish skullcaps, Sikh turbans, Muslim head scarves and large crucifixes” in a “public place”.

    Is it possible that “these Muslims, Jews and Sikhs marching together?” in fact ain’t?

    ….And anyway, what objection can there be to ‘religious neutrality’? ….especially in “public places”.

    Afterthought:- If Jesus had had access to Facebook, Twitter and all the rest would HE have been making such a public nuisance of himself that someone decided he should be stopped?

    ….after-afterthought:- since Jesus use of ‘social media’ would have been far less disruptive and much more EFFICIENT than schlepping around the countryside trying to drum up interest among the riff-raff that didn’t have a job to go to,
    ……why didn’t he zap up the WWW on the spot?

    Or get his old man to do so?
    Isn’t god supposed to be somewhat smarter than Bill Gates?
    ….and more ……er, ‘Creative’, too??

    Like

    • Indeed?
      What if they came to work wearing swastika armbands or headbands, Hunt?

      One man’s declaration of ‘faith’ is another man’s atrocity, is another man’s challenge, is another man’s………….

      There are many tens of thousands of religious sects ALL OF WHICH HAVE A DIFFERENT POINT TO EXTOL (otherwise there’d only be one religion), and don’t forget the swastika was originally a religious symbol. (and very nearly that to the nazis, too!)

      Hence, wherever god goes murder and misery inevitably follow in his footsteps.
      Y’can’t indulge religion AND decry violence and hatred.
      …..the best you can do is choose your priorities.

      Like

      • Dabbles, I have no concern of these matters that is mine. My opinion I said. The matter is for the companies and communities.
        ~Eric

        I am instructed this way…
        Ephesians 4:17-32
        Instructions for Christian Living

        17 So I tell you this, and insist on it in the Lord, that you must no longer live as the Gentiles do, in the futility of their thinking. 18 They are darkened in their understanding and separated from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them due to the hardening of their hearts. 19 Having lost all sensitivity, they have given themselves over to sensuality so as to indulge in every kind of impurity, and they are full of greed.

        20 That, however, is not the way of life you learned 21 when you heard about Christ and were taught in him in accordance with the truth that is in Jesus. 22 You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; 23to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24 and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.

        25 Therefore each of you must put off falsehood and speak truthfully to your neighbor, for we are all members of one body. 26 “In your anger do not sin”d : Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, 27 and do not give the devil a foothold. 28 Anyone who has been stealing must steal no longer, but must work, doing something useful with their own hands, that they may have something to share with those in need.

        29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. 30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

        Like

  3. Make sure you tell the ones you love how much you love them, because you do not know when they will be called home to be with the Lord.

    I found an old email which I hadn’t read in my Junk Mail yesterday, from someone I loved, telling me how much he loved me. I was going to phone him up straight away but got side-tracked. Well, it’s too late for me now as I’ve just got word that he died early this morning.

    Seriously, we all need to know that we are loved.

    Like

    • He must have known he was about to die.
      How beautiful that he made sure to let you know how much he loved you.
      It makes you realise, that at the end of life, that’s all that’s really important.

      Like

      • ??… “at the end of life” nothing’s important, Kate.
        It’s those still living that think such stuff s important.
        …somewhat self-interestedly.

        Like

      • No Kathleen, he didn’t know he was about to die.

        His email to me was sent in May this year and I had somehow missed it until Monday. He was part of our family for 20 years, a man with a big heart. He would send me emails all the time, the beautiful power point ones with incredible pictures and beautiful music. I had ninety-five of his emails to go through spanning over two years. I save them for when I have the time and am in the mood. He has never written to me preferring instead to phone me on occasion and just send me the beautiful power-point emails. So I had no reason to think that there in the pile of unseen emails was a beautiful letter waiting for me to read.

        What really upset me was that his death was a shock to everyone. He was fit and healthy until two weeks ago. Apparently he got admitted to hospital with a very debilitating backache. He thought that he had a pinched nerve. Turns out that he was riddled with cancer. He died two weeks later.

        And whilst my family were saying their goodbyes to him in hospital on Monday, I was suddenly in the mood to go through all his ninety-five emails that day. I did not know he was sick and in hospital—it happened so quickly that no-one thought to let me know. That’s what upsets me even more.

        I wanted to phone him on Monday, but I was tired and so purposed to phone him this week sometime. I never got the chance. He died at 5.00 Tuesday morning.

        Mum calls it premonitions—I get them all the time, and that’s why I take the death of someone I love especially hard. I’m kicking myself for not going through his emails sooner, but then I think as Monday was his last day on earth, Monday was the day I was meant to read his special letter to me, the day that I too spent saying goodbye to a dear soul who will be greatly missed.

        Like

      • Wow, frightening how sudden it can be.

        Sounds like you had a special bond. These are the things I’m grafeful in life.

        Dabbles, the end of this life at least. If I meet you in the next life, I hope I won’t have to listen to atheist sermons anymore

        Like

    • Thanks for the advice, Mon.
      (“Make sure you tell the ones you love how much you love them, because you do not know when they will be called home to be with the Lord. “)

      The dogs want to know what ‘love’ is?
      …and are there any cats in the Lord’s home? 🙂

      Like

      • The dogs want to know what ‘love’ is?

        For dogs it’s companionship, lotsa horseplay, lotsa kisses and cuddles, regular meals, lotsa treats, having a warm, cosy bed on cold nights and a cool, shaded area on hot days to retreat to, to be kept flea free and a big backyard or somewhere where they can run to their hearts content, and to have their tummies tickled.

        Are there any dogs and cats in Heaven? Well, I’d be very disappointed with God if there weren’t. 🙂

        Like

      • Onya Mon!
        But that description strikes me as being a good description of ‘love’ for just about EVERYbody! 🙂

        Like

  4. I’ve no quarrel with anybody wearing what they like, except I feel some places should require faces to be revealed. Already motorcycle helmets have to be removed in certain places. I hope all drivers licences now show the full face.

    Like

    • Hi Strewth,

      When I see these women having to cover themselves up from head to toe because of their dysfunctional fathers, brothers, husbands, sons and religious (male of course) leaders, I react so angrily. It is an affront to everything I hold dear; to the common good, respect and decency of all women created in God’s image and likeness.

      It is totally obscene and unacceptable to treat women in this way—to feel that they must be covered so that they no longer resemble a human being but have become an object of shame that has to be hidden from view.

      It is a disgusting abuse of women and should not be allowed in western nations—ever!

      http://www.experienceproject.com/stories/Regard-Niqabs-And-Burkas-As-Human-Rights-Violations/1439221

      Like

Leave a Reply

