Dig Deep

A BEAUTIFUL friend read this poem at the funeral of another great friend this week.

If ever there was a time to dare,
to make a difference
to embark on something worth doing
it is now.

Not for any grand cause, necessarily
but for something that tugs at your heart,
something that’s your inspiration,
something that’s your dream.

You owe it to yourself
to make your days count
Have fun
Dig deep
Dream big

Know that things worth doing
seldom come easy.
There will be good days
and there will be bad days.
There will be times when you want to turn around,
pack up and call it quits.

These times tell you
that you are pushing yourself
and that you are not afraid to learn by trying.

Persist;
because with an idea, determination and the right tools
you can do great things.
Let your instincts, your intellect and your heart guide you.

Trust;
believe in the incredible power of the human mind.
Of doing something that makes a difference,
Of working hard,
Of laughing and hoping,
Of lazy afternoons,
Of lasting friends,
Of all the things will cross your path in the future.

The start of something new
brings hope of something great.
Anything is possible.

There is only one you
and you will pass this way only once.
DO IT RIGHT!

5 thoughts on “Dig Deep

    • I was thinking about regret and disappointment. Not everyone has it all together.
      We make mistakes. Was wondering if God is as disappointed with us as we are with ourselves at times. I used to think so. In fact, one day in my journaling with God, because of my rebellion, I felt He angrily said to me, “I grow weary and impatient with you!” Well that was like a clanger in my spirit. It just did not sit well with me but I lacked the spiritual maturity or knowledge of God’s Word to know if they were words from the Lord, or my own heart. A good and trusted friend used to tell me to let peace be my guide and that was the best advice anyone could have ever given me.

      Now, many years later, I am apt to agree with Jonathan Merritt who says,

      “As I have discovered what G.K. Chesterton called “the furious love of God,” I’ve accepted that God is never disappointed with us. But I think God may often get disappointed for us. He wants the best for us—lives of joy and abundance and fulfillment—but He recognizes that we often choose paths that lead us away from those gifts.

      My friend Tony cheated on his wife a few years ago, and as result, he ruined his marriage. Today, Tony harbors a lot of guilt. “Do you think God is disappointed with me?” he asked recently. I told him I didn’t think so, but I wondered if God was disappointed for him. “Oh, Tony, I wanted you to have a healthy marriage and a loving, stable home for your children,” God may have thought. “I am disappointed for you because, like you, I wanted something better. But I’m walking with you even still.” This is the response of a loving, empathetic God whose mercies are new each morning.

      Today we remember that Jesus came for the weak, for broken people who live imperfect lives, for those who don’t have it all together, for the serial failures and habitual mess-ups.

      God is not disappointed with you.”

      Like

    • Onya Mon!!
      …and always keep in reserve the wisdom of the Universal Guru:-

      When all else fails, read the instructions! 😉

      ….or was it:- If at first you don’t succeed, fkucitt!! ?

      Like

Leave a Reply

