In praise of weird people

wierd

How true.

11 thoughts on “In praise of weird people

  1. Weird or excentric people tend to be the most honest people in this life… honest with themselves and their own feelings, honest about what they see and what is as it is, etc.

    Given this life is so very very overflowing with dishonesty, particulary the havers of power and money, and their institutes and establishments, the soul which has found themself and thinks about things takes a rather unique position of seeing into and thru things which most people don’t. Insightful, creative, playful, sometimes brutally honest, some will put those to work for ‘ the golden calf ‘ ( material life’s most desired benefits… can you say hollywood) , others for the good of all life, and some keep to themselves.

    I am GJPaul.wordpress.com – Protesting material nature’s harmful, killing life-order, and priviledged witness of various loving mystical persons involved in this life, and student of the prophets moses, jesus and krishna.

    Like

  2. PhD researcher sees hope for mental health sufferers

    “God brings purpose and does not contradict science” says esteemed research student.

    With the backing of a prestigious Oxford University scholarship to complete a PhD in the neurobiology of schizophrenia, Nathanael Yates finds hope instead of conflict between the claims of science and Christianity.

    Nathanael was driven from a young age with a passion for helping those suffering mental illnesses, resulting in top class results at the University of Western Australia and award-winning research. From a young age he recalls being fascinated with mental health, psychology and the awareness that “some people can’t tell what is and isn’t real”.

    “As a Christian I think it is my duty to alleviate suffering, and mental health sufferers I believe often endure the most and are poorly treated in society,” he says.

    Although he comes from a highly scientific background, Nathanael says science has never presented a challenge or struggle to his faith in God. “Being a Christian and a scientist means you have to think through concepts and claims in both Christianity and science more thoroughly, but if you put in the effort it is very rewarding,” he says. “If Christianity is true, which I believe it is, no amount of reasoning or science can disprove it and because of this I have nothing to fear from new knowledge.“

    “It is important to remember that for most of history the most prominent scientists have been religious and many have been Christians, such as Isaac Newton who even wrote large volumes on theology.” Nathanael says people can be intelligent, informative, rational and still be a Christian which he often writes articles about. He explains in one article for Christian Today Australia that science is a story of discoveries and, although our understanding of things has changed, the things themselves have not changed. “DNA still existed thousands of years ago even though we did not know it existed. Truth is not dependent on our understanding, and does not change on whether we know it or not,” he writes. “The existence of God does not depend on whether you believe in Him or not, just in the same way the universe is composed of atoms whether you believe or not.”

    Although Nathanael says his faith in God is based on sound reasoning, he has also trusted God to bring him through the difficult circumstances he could not understand in life. “When I was completing my final year in high school my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer. My trust in Jesus allowed me to be comforted by the fact, that whatever happened to my mother I had nothing to fear, because I knew she would go to heaven,” he says. “My faith has also helped through-out my childhood because I was quite isolated due to my intelligence and poor athletic abilities.”

    Moved by the understanding that God could not stand to see His creation suffer despite people’s rebellion against Him, Nathanael says Jesus Christ gives him hope that life has purpose and is not just empty and meaningless. This hope comes from the knowledge that Jesus both cared for those suffering in society and was able to prove He was God through His miracles, fulfilled prophecy and His resurrection after a torturous death.

    “His sacrifice on the cross and the forgiveness He offers us if we choose to accept it, means that we can have hope in a world that otherwise is hopeless,” Nathanael says. Following Jesus’ example, Nathanael is motivated to continue his research because of its capacity to help countless people and the potential to better treat or prevent the development of mental illnesses like schizophrenia. “I want to help those with mental health issues so they can come to a place in their life when they can accept and appreciate God in their lives, and to provide hope for some of the most downtrodden in society,” he says.

    His most recent research into animal models of schizophrenia looks at how stress during and shortly after pregnancy can affect the development of animals. “I hope to discover unique biological measurements that can one day predict who will develop schizophrenia, which will then allow for preventative treatments. I have recently discovered that some proteins in the brains are very important for hearing, and without them the parts of the brain involved in hearing likely become disorganised.”

    CHALLENGE newspaper—August 2013

    Like

    • Thanks for posting this Monica. Very uplifting and interesting.

      It’s funny how at the end it discusses the link between stress and schizoprenia. One of my cousins was held up at gunpoint and seemed to develop schizoprenia after that. It was like the trauma triggered it off.

      Like

      • ….and entirely WRONG!
        WHY do people just swallow whole the absolute nonsense these self-appointed know-alls spout?

        eg:- ““It is important to remember that for most of history the most prominent scientists have been religious and many have been Christians, such as Isaac Newton who even wrote large volumes on theology.”

        Not only WASN’T Newton a christian, he was actively and vocally ANTI-christian.

        eg: ” “The existence of God does not depend on whether you believe in Him or not,..”
        Arrant nonsense! Ask any moslem whether the jewish god exists….or one/several of the hindu ones ….or…
        In every case the alleged existence of a god depends entirely on ‘belief’ in the existence of god.
        Even your very own god insists you must believe in him or be ‘godless’.

        Have none of you ever heard of Google??

        Like

      • The Faith Behind the Famous: Isaac Newton

        He has been called “the greatest scientific genius the world has known.” Yet he spent less time on science than on theology. What role did Newton’s faith play in his life and work?

        For Newton the world of science was by no means the whole of life. He spent more time on theology than on science; indeed, he wrote about 1.3 million words on biblical subjects. Yet this vast legacy lay hidden from public view for two centuries until the auction of his nonscientific writings in 1936.

        Newton’s understanding of God came primarily from the Bible, which he studied for days and weeks at a time. He took special interest in miracles and prophecy, calculating dates of Old Testament books and analyzing their texts to discover their authorship. In a manuscript on rules for interpreting prophecy, Newton noted the similar goals of the scientist and the prophecy expositor: simplicity and unity. He condemned the “folly of interpreters who foretell times and things by prophecy,” since the purpose of prophecy was to demonstrate God’s providence in history when “after [prophecies] were fulfilled, they might be interpreted by events.”

        A member of the Anglican church, Newton attended services and participated in special projects, such as paying for the distribution of Bibles among the poor, and serving on a commission to build fifty new churches in the London area. Yet Newton seldom made public pronouncements regarding his theology. He is remembered instead for his pioneering scientific achievements.

        Theology and Science

        Newton’s historical learning, including a knowledge of Jewish customs, was extensive. He also mastered the writings of the church Fathers. (Newton’s interest in the doctrine of the Trinity led him to study the fourth-century conflict between Athanasius and Arius, who denied the status of Christ in the Godhead. Convinced that a massive fraud had perverted certain Scriptures, Newton adopted the Arian position.)

        Despite his intense biblical study and belief in a creating God, Newton observed the distinction between religion and science made by Galileo: “The Bible tells us how to go to Heaven, not how the heavens go.” During his presidency of the Royal Society, Newton banned any subject touching religion, even apologetics. He wrote, “We are not to introduce divine revelations into philosophy [science], nor philosophical [scientific] opinions into religion.”

        Yet for Newton this distinction was not a divorce, much less a conflict. Although the books of God’s Word and his Works were not to provide the content of each other’s teachings, they were bound together. Newton did not consider one to be sacred and the other secular, nor did Copernicus, Kepler, Galileo, or Pascal—all practicing Christians. Only later Enlightenment philosophy produced a model of “warfare” between science and theology.

        Newton’s theology profoundly influenced his scientific method, which rejected pure speculation in favor of observations and experiments. His God was not merely a philosopher’s impersonal First Cause; he was the God in the Bible who freely creates and rules the world, who speaks and acts in history. The biblical doctrine of creation undergirded Newton’s science. Newton believed in a God of “actions [in nature and history], creating, preserving, and governing … all things according to his good will and pleasure.”

        http://www.ctlibrary.com/ch/1991/issue30/3038.html

        Like

      • That’s terrible about your cousin Kathleen,

        Poor guy/gal.

        You must always pray shock and trauma off a person who survives a trauma because it is a powerful debilitating assault against our psyche and spirit. I have prayed healing in this area on many occasions and the result of God answering this prayer is both immediate and powerful and I believe, absolutely necessary. I actually believe that shock and trauma opens a door for sickness to take hold of us……so, I’ll join with your prayers Kathleen for your cousin’s healing.

        Like

    • Thanks Monica, but he took his life many years ago. I was a teenager at the time that he started really showing signs of schizoprenia. He used to talk non-stop but wouldn’t look you in the eye, it was like he was looking over your shoulder but not really focussing. It’s hard to explain, but I could tell from then that there was something not right. He was a good and gentle man and you are probably right. Prayers at the time of the trauma would have helped. I just pray that he is now at peace.

      Like

  3. Abuse wasn’t my fault

    Giving forgiveness liberated Kristy

    I wonder how you would write your biography if you could use only seven words?

    Mine would read, “Got forgiveness, gave forgiveness, now everything’s different!” But my journey to this point was ten years in the making; as my life in seven words used to be, “My family’s broken, it’s all my fault!”

    For most of life, I honed the habit of taking responsibility for everything that went wrong. If I didn’t cause what was wrong; then I believed it was my fault for not preventing it – this is the definition of shame! Although this a painful way to live, it seemed easier than believing the truth. For example; it was easier for me to believe I wasn’t lovable than to believe I wasn’t loved. But this weight of carrying someone else’s wrong behaviour was way too heavy for me to bear, but I didn’t know how to let go of it …yet.

    Grace and mercy stepped into my life when I was 17. I moved to outback, and was surrounded by red dust and strangers who showed me the love of God. I found a place that was true and beautiful and gave me what I needed most; love, security and a relationship with Jesus. It was the first time I had found a place that was stronger than the secret sins I was harbouring. I also learned the life-changing power of forgiveness. I assumed I already had forgiven my abusive Dad because I felt love for him and, in practical terms, I was the only one in the family who still talked to him. But one night, while watching the movie Pay It Forward, a realisation hit me and I took off. I ran into the darkness until I found myself standing in a dry lake bed inwardly screaming … ‘It wasn’t my sin. It wasn’t my fault’. By now I had discovered that I was loved and lovable – but my dad had never loved me! Dad was an abusive alcoholic, wemoved houses all the time because he kept losing his job, we’d play loud music so we couldn’t hear him fighting and beating up my mother – and then we’d hope that mum would be able to get up again (and there are more specifics I won’t share in order to honour my family).

    Realising I needed to forgive my dad took my grief to a whole new level. He had done everything deserving of losing me, but nothing had made me want to desert him until I was faced with the decision whether to truly, deeply forgive him. It hurt bitterly. He wasn’t sorry, he wasn’t going to make it right, he would never be held to account for what he had done; he didn’t even admit he had done anything wrong. I spent months in that process of learning how to truly forgive. Part of that process was moving from denial and excuses about my dad, to looking honestly at my father’s sins. I grieved a lot, worked through a new found anger and I wept for all the pain my mother had endured over the years!

    I learnt about Jesus’ love for me and His forgiveness for what I had done. He had carried the weight of my wrongs onto the cross. I felt lighter! I remembered the story of the man walking along the road carrying a barrel who accepted a lift from a farmer with a horse and cart. When he sat down he kept the barrel on his shoulders. The farmer asked him to put his load in the back but the man replied, “It is enough that you are carrying me, I can’t expect you to carry my burden as well!”

    I had to not only let Jesus forgive me for my wrongs, I also had to stop carrying my Dad’s burdens as if they were mine to bear. They were not! Giving Dad back the responsibility of his own sin seemed harder then carrying it myself. But it wasn’t mine and I couldn’t avoid that anymore. I had come alive in a new way and in relationship with God and his people. I finally saw clearly who I was; and that Dad’s crimes were separate from me. I finally saw that Dad was responsible for his own choices, his mistakes and his sin. I realised I didn’t have to carry my Dad’s load anymore. What freedom!

    The decision to forgive Dad was an act of the will. I didn’t feel like it. I was still mad, grieving and broken but I made a promise that even though he had been a horrible father, it didn’t mean I was a horrible daughter. I refused to let it define me any longer. I wasn’t responsible for what happened in the past, but I was responsible for what happened next and for how I would let it affect me in the future.

    I had carried the burden of shame and the burden of being a victim long enough. I decided to choose the freedom and liberty that come through forgiveness. Forgiveness is Jesus’ whole story, He had given forgiveness to me and now I chose to give it to Dad.

    Choosing to forgive Dad has given me the freedom, health and joy I would never have otherwise experienced. I thank God for my new story … “Got forgiveness, gave forgiveness, now everything’s different!

    CHALLENGE newspaper—August 2013

    Like

    • (“I wonder how you would write your biography if you could use only seven words?”)

      “Not now. I’ve got a headache!” 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

