Happiness for idiots

RUSSIAN author Anton Chekhov said: “Any idiot can face a crisis – it’s this day-to-day living that wears you out.’’

Our penchant for comparing ourselves with the people next door, like our tendency to grow bored with the things that we acquire, seems to be a deeply rooted human trait.

Happiness is, according to some researchers, 50 percent genetic. What you do with the other half of the happiness challenge depends on attitude.

The Spanish conqueror Abd Er-Rahman III observed about 1200 years ago: “I have now reigned about 50 years in victory or peace, beloved by my subjects, dreaded by my enemies, and respected by my allies.

“Riches and honors, power and pleasure, have waited on my call. Nor does any earthly blessing appear to have been wanting to my felicity.

“In this situation, I have diligently numbered the days of pure and genuine happiness which have fallen to my lot. They amount to 14.’’

How different is the attitude of poet William Blake who said happiness was daily seeing “a world in a grain of sand’’ and “heaven in a wildflower’’.

The people who are happiest seems to be those who are both poets and realists. They know happiness doesn’t depend on what we think they deserve.
They aren’t bothered by the success of others because they know life isn’t always fair.

As Abraham Lincoln said: “Most people are as happy as they make up their minds to be.
Lincoln advised being grateful, practising random acts of kindness, forgiving our enemies and noticing life’s small pleasures was part of the secret.

Happiness doesn’t depend on what you have, but what you think you have.

8 thoughts on “Happiness for idiots

  1. Knowing that I am loved by God is what makes me happy.

    There is much in life that we have to contend with; much that conspires against us to make us unhappy, but knowing that God has promised in His Word to never leave us or forsake us is the glue that holds me together and makes me content.

    He calls me Precious. Yes, He literally does, and how could I not be happy about that? And, I am absolutely certain that if you really tried to listen to His still, small voice, you too would hear the God of the Universe call you Precious too.

    I felt to sing one line from an old song to my husband a few days ago, “Yahweh I know You are near, standing always at my side. You lead me from the foe and You guide me in ways everlasting”. His jaw dropped. Said he’d been singing that song all week in his prayer time. See, how could I not be happy knowing that God is for real? 🙂

    Like

  2. The key to happiness is no price-tags nor IOUs; no counting of costs.

    An Irish Airman foresees his Death

    I KNOW that I shall meet my fate
    Somewhere among the clouds above;
    Those that I fight I do not hate
    Those that I guard I do not love;
    My country is Kiltartan Cross, 5
    My countrymen Kiltartan’s poor,
    No likely end could bring them loss
    Or leave them happier than before.
    Nor law, nor duty bade me fight,
    Nor public man, nor cheering crowds, 10
    A lonely impulse of delight
    Drove to this tumult in the clouds;
    I balanced all, brought all to mind,
    The years to come seemed waste of breath,
    A waste of breath the years behind
    In balance with this life, this death.

    W.B. Yeats

    Like

  3. Dabs,

    Someone must have taken a photo of you whilst you weren’t looking. Have a look at the posts Bryan likes listed below—the second one—“A Thought: God is Who we Want…” The photo of God strangely reminds me of you. 😆

    Like

    • ???……Looks like god didn’t like the comparison, Mon, and scrubbed the image.
      …Not that I minded being outed, you understand 😉

      Like

      • Yeah Dabs,

        When I looked again it had gone. But I’ve found you here. What do you reckon, take away the suntan and a few kilos and it could be you? On second thoughts, keep the suntan and kilos and it’s me! 😉

        Like

  4. oh dear!
    I love it when you’re off your face, Mon!
    …however you got that way 😆

    But he doesn’t really look like me; my eyes are blue.

    Like

    • ….actually…. A mate of mine is coming down for a couple of days, and looks remarkably like this icon. (I’ll take a few photos)

      The spooky thing is that he’s an ex-priest.
      ….god moving in mysterious ways??

      Like

      • You know I’m kidding don’t you?

        The original post with that picture attached was about making God on our own image, so my wisecrack has lost something now that the post is gone.

        Off my face? Yeah, I just re-read a comment I made back on the blog in 2007 and I am cringing in embarrassment. I kid you not, you would think HUP and I were the same person, both deluded in thinking we are God! I actually said that I had become that which I worshipped. In other words Jesus! What the hell was I smoking back then? What the hell did I mean by that and why didn’t anyone tell me to pull my head in? I AM NOTHING LIKE JESUS!!! I hang my head in shame. 😯

        Like

Leave a Reply

