Going Home

TODAY is the birthday on Antonin Dvorak, the man who composed many splendid works including the New World Symphony, from which this beautiful tune comes. Enjoy

A pupil; of Dvorak, William Arms Fisher, wrote the lyrics in 1922:

Going home, going home
I’m just going home
Quiet like, some still day
I’m just going home

It’s not far, just close by
Through an open door
Work all done, cares laid by
Going to fear no more

I’ma going home
I’m just going home…..
Going home, going home

8 thoughts on “Going Home

  1. That’s nice……

    Going home, going home
    I’m just going home
    Quiet like, some still day
    I’m just going home

    It’s not far, just close by
    Through an open door
    Work all done, cares laid by
    Going to fear no more

    I’ma going home
    I’m just going home…..
    Going home, going home

    ……. any idea what it’s called? 🙂

    Like

      • Ah Dabbles, dear friend,

        Are you quite sure that the poor little Puddy Tat isnt suffering from hair balls? The noise they make is often like that.

        Oh and again re ‘Goin Home’. As far as I can recall, it’s often treated as a Negro Spiritual too. I’ve heard it sung many times, and it’s sometimes included as a competition item in a Music Eisteddfod.
        Rian.

        Like

Leave a Reply

