What if you found out you had only 24 hours to live?

24 hours to live? Think about it for a moment.
Would you be happy with the life you led or would you look back in disappointment?

Would the world be a better place for you having been on the planet? Or would you think you hadn’t even really started to live yet?

Courage is rarely reckless. As author Alice MacKenzie Swaim said, courage is not the towering oak that sees storms come and go, but the fragile blossom that opens in the snow.

Theologian Thomas Moore said vulnerability and courage were not opposites. They went together like yin and yang, like two sides of a coin.

The Chinese holy text, the Tao Te Ching, extols what seems to be a paradox. It says: Yield and be strong, Bend and be straight, Empty and be full.

Being simultaneously vulnerable and courageous allows us to be open to another and to allow others to find their own strengths.

Now could be the time for you to jump into the unknown waters. The water may be shallower than you thought or saltier, but jump anyway.

After all, we were born into this world to find truth and the essence of ourselves and we may as well do it with enthusiasm.

12 thoughts on “What if you found out you had only 24 hours to live?

  1. At first I thought I was off the track of this subject, not answering it’s proper intent. Because, if I knew I was to die peacefully, I would go to bed with a good book and a glass of wine. If otherwise, I would take what sleeping pills I could and do likewise.

    So why would I not be thinking of the life I’d led? A couple of reasons. First, although I’ve often acted in not the best way possible, I really think it was the best I was capable of at that time.

    Second, I have the company of a reassuring Voice saying ”All will be well.”

    Like

    • Yes, I’m with you Dreamweaver, – but as well, –

      I would certainly be winding up a few loose ends in my affairs. I’d be looking to get in touch with as many of my friends and relatives as possible. I’d be arranging for my beloved Pussycats to be cared for, and I’d gratefully enjoy their purrs and their company for the last time in incarnation this time.

      I’d be reviewing as well, my thoughts and meditations on The God. And I’d be gladly looking forward to returning to the ‘place’ that I came from before this lifetime.

      I really do hope that when the time comes that I mnight have some such advance notice. As it is, I look forward to it with happy anticipation.

      Rian

      PS Dreamweaver,
      Re the LCC, i started under +Sten in Melbourne, and worked closely with +William in Perth, and went up to Priest. A very beautiful Gnostic church, I would say. Never attended in Brisbane. Rian.

      Like

  2. What’s the point in stressing over the lives we’ve led on our death beds? It’s too late to do anything about it anyway, isn’t it? And if you are to believe the near death experiences, God takes each and every one of us through a painful life review anyway. Of course a Christian believes that when we die our deeds will be judged by Almighty God and we will be rewarded, or suffer loss accordingly.

    If I knew I only had 24 hours to live, I’d like to think that my thoughts were on God firstly; that I felt I was at peace with Him and then I would want to spend the rest of the time I had left with those most precious to me, my husband, children and grandchildren. Gazing into their beautiful faces would be the greatest send off I could ever wish for. I would consider myself supremely blessed.

    Like

    • But I get what you’re saying Bryan,

      “Live like it’s your last day on earth, love like you’ve never been hurt, dance like nobody’s watching, work like you don’t need the money…” Tony Robins

      Me? I just want to savour each moment.

      Like

    • For you Dabs,

      My reply is a bit late, but better late than never. (How many times have you questioned us over this scripture over the years I wonder?)

      Matthew 17:20…So Jesus said to them, “Because of your unbelief; for assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.

      Here’s the answer, from no less than a Chinaman! 😉

      “The man who removes a mountain begins by carrying away small stones.”

      Chinese proverb

      Like

    • Dabbles, I’m sure I’ve told this story before, but you reminded me of an old aunty of mine who used to fret about the end of the world. She used to bother her Parish Priest about it at every confession until he finally got fed up and sighed “anna, when you die, that will be the end of the world for you”. The family got a good giggle out of that.

      Like

      • I’ve been accused of many things in this life…..but reminding someone of their old aunty is a first!
        Just don’t anyone else, will you? 🙂

        Like

  3. So your point is, Mon?
    (” …if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.”)

    Are you saying he had to carry the mountain away manually because “you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’” lost something in the translation to Mandarin?

    Probably not a very clever chinaman anyway, hey? Anybody else would’ve used explosives (lotsa crackers?… no wait that’s the Southern Baptist method!) or at least a few bulldozers borrowed from their mines in Australia. 😉

    ……Or perhaps the confusion is a result of allowing all those christian missionaries into the joint?

    Like

Leave a Reply

