Church outrages with “only whites” call

A NORTH Carolina congregation caused a firestorm when a lead pastor requested “only white people” serve as greeters. No, it’s not quite what it seems. Turns out, the pastor is African American and she wanted to attract more white worshippers to her church..

Carmen Thomas, a member of Freedom House Church was outraged after receiving an email from Pastor Makeda Pennycooke asking people of color to refrain from serving as greeters at the 9 a.m. service during the congregation’s busiest season, WBTV reports.

Pennycooke, an African-American, sent the email to a group of church volunteers writing “first impressions matter” and that the congregation wanted “the best of the best on the front doors.”

Thomas told the news station she believed Pennycooke was attempting to attract white worshippers.

“We are continuing to work to bring our racial demographic pendulum back to mid-line,” she continued in the email. “So we would like to ask that only white people be on the front doors.”

According to WBTV, Pennycooke has since apologized for the email along with seniors pastors Troy and Penny Maxwell.

7 thoughts on “Church outrages with “only whites” call

  1. As I read this and listened to the news report I felt sorry for the people. N.C. is already a state that has issues why keep this thing going? My BIGGER problem aside from the race issue is why are churches being so deceptive to win people into the door? I have seen many a church that seems to want to deception to reach the young people. Saw the banners FTW (in huge letters)on one church as I was driving past. You could clearly see the FTW but what you could not clearly see was the other letters. F-Fellowship T-teaching W-worship. Do these churches not realize that deception is wrong? I attended a church that the music went way generic with words that said “it’s not safe it’s not safe” and had things on the PowerPoint that made one wonder. When I asked the music pastor about this I was quickly told that I was over 40 and on the downslope to live and that the “church’s function is to reach the younger generation at any cost and that once in the doors we can give them Jesus” (this being told to me by someone over 40). That phrase at any cost said to me that if we use deception and other “tricks” “we will get them in the doors to hear the truth” I wondered out loud… Did Jesus use tricks and what about the scripture that says that we are not to be use deception to proclaim the good news? “2 Corinthians 4:2 New Living Translation (NLT)
    2 We reject all shameful deeds and underhanded methods. We don’t try to trick anyone or distort the word of God. We tell the truth before God, and all who are honest know this”

    I had a friend who was a missionary in Louisiana who during Halloween they were going to set up “Free Spiritual Readings” and then once the folks were in the door share the good news of Jesus.

    When we as believers do these things we are only aligning with the enemy. Scripture is clear in the fact of what we are to do. If Jesus Christ is worth knowing than He is worth knowing as the truth from the get go not from using deception to get them in.

    It is the same with this church in NC they are deceiving folks about the church. It is sad. I also thought that Freedom House Inc. Was a drug treatment program with a 1/2 way house attached to it, not a church. But I guess they have expanded or maybe not… a lie is a lie is a lie no matter the intention.

    Like

    • Hi leftnfree,

      Not really too sure about your claim that Jesus used no tricks in his preaching. I know that Christians will rationalise the Gospel accounts, in order to ‘correct’ my point here, but all the same, he didnt always speak out plainly.

      He states himself that he taught in parables so that they wouldnt understand what he was saying. And to his disciples he told the truth about what he intended.

      Rian.

      Like

      • I will only say this Rian. If you ask the Lord to speak to you clearly He will. I challenge you to ask Him to meet you! As far as “correcting” your point. Only thing that I can say is none of us speak plain all the time. While I might speak good via writing hand me a microphone and watch what is spoken. I guarantee that you will see a difference. Jesus came not for the religious but for those who needed Him.

        Like

      • Hi leftnfree,

        Actually I’ve asked ‘the Lord’ to speak to me on many occasions during my long lifetime. I’ve had many answers that did not lead me to any variety of Theism. Many folk over the centuries have had answers that led them to Islam and alternatively to Hinduism among others.

        As I’ve quoted here before, I’ve had Catholics telling me to pray before a crucifix for three hours a day over three weeks, and I would duly become a devout Catholic. Then Mormons have told me to kneel and pray after studying the Book of Mormon, and the Lord would convince me that Latter Day Saints is the authentic spiritual path.

        Who else? well, Evangelicals have told me to pray after reading Paul’s Epistles and I would be duly converted. Oh, and an Islamic once told me to bow down to Mecca five times a day for three weeks and Allah would enlighten me.

        I’m no atheist, as I’ve tried to explain innumerable times, but I have known atheists who in their earlier years of Christian belief, called upon the god, but never got any sort of helpful answers.

        Cheers, Rian.

        Like

    • You make a lot of sense.

      I always think, don’t sell the church, it doesn’t need you to do that. The Word is powerful enough. The Holy Spirit will do it’s thing.

      Like

  2. Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider worries that
    they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without
    having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

