Walking in their shoes

WE sometimes desperately crave revenge against those who have offended us, and live as prisoners of our pain, obsessed with getting even.
We all choose to get angry and no matter what happens in our lives, no one else is to blame for our anger.
Roman emperor Marcus Aurelius asked: “How much more grievous are the consequences of anger than the causes of it?’’
Using hatred against hatred is a nonsense. But if we use compassion to embrace those who have harmed us, it can diffuse the bomb in our hearts and in theirs.
Sometimes, when we allow God’s grace to work, we forgive our tormentors and our hearts are freed to move beyond their hardened boundaries.
We are able to walk in the shoes of the other person.

10 thoughts on “Walking in their shoes

  1. Amen!

    Only God can soften our hearts, and it’s a long process for some of us.

    BTW, Happy Fathers Day guys! May God richly bless you and your families.

    Like

      • LOL, they love you Rian,

        So do I!

        My pussycat brought me a live and very angry 4′ (1.22m) Dugite snake one day. Carried it up a flight of seven stairs to drop it at my back door. It was so angry it was having a go at me. All I could do was put a bucket over it and wait for hubby to come home from work and deal with it. I didn’t want it escaping into my backyard.

        Then another time he brought me two live baby Dugites (together!). Apparently they are more poisonous than their parents. Thank God he’s starting to slow down now. We only had to wait 10 years for that to happen.

        Like

      • Mon,

        Holy cow. I’m sure glad I dont live round where you must be. I’ve not seen a snake in the whole 20 years I’ve been living here. And the most my various cats have brought in to me have been just a very odd bird (maybe one per year) small lizards (also maybe one a year). Oh and large moths, but that is in the Summer months. Mouses – ah well, they are a bit lazy on that front. Just very very occasionally.

        Please do take care of yourself. Cant say I’d be encouraging my cats to bring in snakes. lucky little furry things, they must have a charmed life to have escaped getting bitten. Anyway, I trust you did compliment the little pets and tell them what good animals they are? No? Oh well,

        Love Rian.

        Like

      • …..er, Mon..
        “Apparently they are more poisonous than their parents.
        ….it’s all just a matter of cooking them properly.
        🙂

        Like

    • I dunno, Strewth,

      Wasnt it Coals of Fire that can be heaped on another’s head rather than the sack cloth and ashes of humility? In any case the passage that comes from always reads to me like a smug and grim self-righteousness.

      Rian

      Like

Leave a Reply

