I have a dream

The civil rights leader Martin Luther KI

FIFTY years ago this week, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. led a civil rights march on Washington and the world heard his “I Have a Dream” speech for the first time.

It may be the most famous speech of the 20th century.

The event was attended by more than 200,000. Among those present: a planeload of stars from Hollywood, including Marlon Brando, Harry Belafonte and Charlton Heston.

Peter, Paul and Mary, Joan Baez, Bob Dylan and Marian Anderson were King’s opening acts.

King was the last of 16 speakers. At first his delivery was unremarkable. Then
singer Mahalia Jackson, standing near him, spontaneously shouted: ”Tell them about the dream, Martin!”

He paused, and then produced one of the defining speeches of the 20th century..

13 thoughts on “I have a dream

  1. I live in Birmingham, AL. I was 8 in 1963. I have been through the park where there are the statues of german shepherds lunging with teeth bared. You can walk through them to get a feel of what it was like for those who lived it. This weekend I toured the museum for the first time. Honestly, I didn’t realize it was the 50th anniversary until I walked into the building and saw the signs. It is well done.

    Like

  2. Martin Luther King says:
    “I had a dream…”
    Melbournians now say:
    “I had a nightmare,
    I had a nightmare that walking through Dandenong, black gangs would block my way, bash me if I challenge them for the right to walk past them. I had a nightmare that if a white fella bashes a black fella he would be crucified in the media. I had a nightmare that if a black fella bashes a white fella the media would not disclose the colour of the assailant. I had a nightmare that white is bad, black is good.”

    Like

      • No Bryan,

        Davinci lives in Australia and tells the truth.

        It’s like that over here in Perth too. I should know, my son was attacked by about 20 of them—Aboriginals, or our indigenous brothers if you prefer that I be politically correct. He had a machete held to his throat and threatened with his life if he did not hand over the silver chain around his neck. His mate took off and left him. It took me a long time to forgive his so-called mate! They smashed a bottle over him. Although shaken, bruised and battered, he lived to report the incident to the police. They told him that this gang was on the rampage leaving a trail of destruction and broken bodies, but it was never reported on the local news and if it had been you could be sure that the media would never say that they were Aboriginals.

        Like

      • Bad seeds in every race?

        Yep! But, thank God, there are so many good folk to compensate for the bad ones.

        The most profound and moving experience I ever had after that incident with my son was when hubby and I were having lunch on the only patch of grass on the footpath of a busy city street. Four Aboriginal men came near. One was extremely drunk and another just kept on looking at me. I started to feel uncomfortable and fearful, but, much to my family’s horror (our children were with us too but they took off when I spoke to the young Aboriginal man), I invited the group of men to sit with us and to share our lunch (sandwiches and fruit). To my surprise, the young man who couldn’t keep his eyes off me, asked if I was his aunty Margaret. No I replied, and although he seemed genuinely disappointed that I wasn’t, he sat down with us anyway and the others followed his lead.

        We talked a while (and bear in mind that I couldn’t believe what was happening), the young man asks whether we were Christians to which we replied yes,and then he asks if we could pray together. So we all stood up, formed a circle, joined hands and prayed the most wonderful, Spirit-led prayer that I had ever prayed, tears of healing and restoration rolling down my face, right there in the middle of a very busy city street!

        That Bryan, is our Wonderful Heavenly Father in action.

        That experience changed my prejudiced heart against our Indigenous brothers
        forever, praise be to our God. But I had to do my part, overcome my fears and wrong mindset, and trust that God was with me and my family and in that situation.

        That young man especially, was a beautiful soul, and so were his shy cousins. Even the blind drunk one gave me a present and expected nothing in return. I was stunned!

        Like

      • Gosh, I’ve only just now read your other new threads.

        This is how I know our Heavenly Father is real and that He indeed leads us by His Spirit. All honour and glory be unto our God.

        Like

Leave a Reply

